Lower Fat Banana Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Great low fat recipe. Nobody except my hubby realized that it was low fat :o) I used applesauce instead of margarine and milk instead of water. I added a tsp. of both vanilla & cinnamon also. This was perfectly brown in fifty minutes and made the house smell amazing! I might add a few chopped pecans next time since the calories are already reduced enough that I wouldn't feel guilty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
this was alright. substitued sugar for splenda, white flour for whole wheat and applesauce for oil. it was a bit dry but pretty good for extremely low calorie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I followed the recipe as it was and it turned out beautiful! It's my first time baking from scratch, so I am pretty excited it turned out well. My oldest sister makes delicious banana bread, but I wanted to try a lighter version and this one was it. I will add nuts to it next time because I've had banana bread with nuts before and they go so well with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This was fantastic! I gave it 4 rather than 5 stars because I did opt to follow a lot of recommendations in other reviews to make it perfect -- substituted milk for water, egg beaters for eggs, apple sauce for margarine, added cinnamon and vanilla extract as well as my own touch of nutmeg. I also made them in a muffin pan, which required them to cook only about 25 minutes or so. PERFECTION! I'm going to take one with me to work for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I've made this twice now and I think it's pretty good. I didn't give it five stars because both times mine ended up a little dry which could have been an error on my part or my oven. It definitely tastes better with nuts or fruit mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by celeste

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
My only changes to this recipe were a teaspoon of vanilla added, and I used low-fat milk instead of the water. I've made this several times and for low-fat it's not a bad recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Keswick, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Soooo Delicious! I made this banana bread last night and it was so good. However, I did tweak it a bit because of my diet. I used 1 cup of cake flour (didn't have all purpose)2/3 wheat flour, 1/4 cup of smart balance for margarine, 2/3 cup brown sugar, rice milk instead of water. I also used vanilla flavoring. It was very moist and a very nice texture. I will make this again and again......It's a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Wow! All the taste without all the fat! I've made a number of full fat banana breads from this site and this low fat version is very, very good. I used 1/3 c. brown sugar, 1/3 c. white sugar, 3 mashed bananas, skim milk instead of water, Sunsweet Lighter Bake instead of the margarine, and added 1 tsp. of vanilla, 1 tsp. of cinnamon, and 1/4 tsp. of almond extract. It had a great texture and baked up very nice in 50 minutes. Also, Pam for baking is a life saver when baking breads!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2009
of all the recipes i have found on this site, this has become one of the family favorites. i made a few minor changes....all similar to those already posted. i used applesauce rather than margarine, milk rather than water....and i dumped a whole slew of cinnamon in because that is just how we like it. i have given this recipe to many friends....all love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
It was eatable but a little bit heavy and not fluffy. I followed the recipe and did not change anything.(not a keeper) Last week I made another recipe and rated it yesterday (the best banana bread), This one is really the best like the recipe says it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States