Lower Fat Banana Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This was such a good basic recipe for banana bread. I also used applesauce, milk, cinammon, vanilla, pumpkin pie spice, 1/2 brown and 1/2 white sugar and dressed it up with cranberries. I just had my first slice and I'm a happy camper, it's very moist but not mushy. I also added some brown sugar to the bottom of my pan :) I think what I liked most about this recipe is the versatility to make it your own. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I halved this recipe and used mini cake pans instead of a full bread pan. Following the directions exactly, the cakes only took about 25 minutes to bake! Just something to keep in mind for others who are also doing the mini cake thing. :) Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gillette

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
The first time I baked this recipe I followed the recipe almost exactly, using Margrine [added a little vanilla] Ths time I'm using apple sauce! It's in the oven right now! Delicous and Moist recipe, very well done!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I followed one of the reviewers suggestion and made muffins. The suggestion was to bake it at 325 for 30 minutes. I pulled my muffins out at 25 minutes and they were burned! I would like to try this again, but I would do either a loaf or bake the muffins for less time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
always great! sometimes i use as little as 1/3 of the sugar. sometimes i use even more bananas. oooh - and it's great to add cocoa powder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
After reading the first page of reviews, I decided to change a few things as well. I also used unsweetened applesauce instead of margarine, as well as substituted Egg Beaters egg whites (6 T) for eggs. Then I added a dash of cinnamon, ginger, and a splash of vanilla. I also added 1/2 c. of walnuts, because banana bread just isn't banana bread without walnuts. I poured the batter into muffin cups and it made 14 muffins at about 141 calories each. They turned out great, although I think I could have gotten away with cooking them for about 10 minutes less. I baked them for 40 minutes at 350 degrees, so next time I will try lowering the heat to 325 and baking them for 30 minutes or so. The smell while they were baking was amazing! Next time, I think I will experiment with lowering the sugar to 1/2 c. With the extra sweetness from the applesauce, I don't think it will be noticeable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This is my go-to banana bread recipe. Super easy to make, and you can add any kind of extra ingredients at the end. I am fond of either chocolate chips (1 cup) or cranberries (1 cup). Makes a really moist bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I made this recipe for my hubby to take to work and apparently they all flipped over it! One man even said "ohh! I think this may be better than the wife's!" haha. THAT's saying something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This is really good! I am replacing my other recipes for Banana Bread with this one! Fantastic with out all the fat..Even my "I want all the fat" hubby liked this...Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I followed a lot of the other reviewers. Replaced white flour with wheat and cut down on the sugar. I double the applesauce in replace of margarine. I also added a dash of cinnamon and nutmeg. Very yummy! It cooked 35 minutes on 350 and then placed foil over the top and cooked for another 10 minutes at 400.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vivienne

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States