Lower Fat Banana Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I followed another's suggestions and made the following changes: substituted 1/3 cup brown sugar for 1/3 cup of the white sugar; substituted applesauce for the margarine; substituted skim milk for the water; substituted 2/3 cup wheat flour for 2/3 cup of the all-purpose flour; added 1 tsp vanilla; and added 1 tsp cinnamon. This is truly the best banana bread I've ever had and it's so much better for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephens City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I used applesauce instead of margarine, 1 cup of whole wheat and 2/3 cup of all purpose and added a tsp of cinnamon. Just realized I forgot the 1/4 cup of water but I planned to substitute that with milk. Even without the extra liquid it was still plenty moist...probably because of the applesauce substitution. I also added 1/2 cup of wheat germ and 3 tablespoons of rice protien powder. I made mini muffins and baked for 18 minutes on 350. Great snacks for the kiddos. Anyone have any suggestions on cutting back the sugar? I figure using honey would probably help. But, 2/3 cup seems like a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Korba

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Oh my, this recipe was awesome! I am always trying to healthify old standards and this was a really great version. Like others, I added just a few dashes of spice-cinnamon and nutmeg-and I actually baked it in my new 4-loaf baking pan, and so they baked much more quickly than one standard loaf (about 35 minutes) I was able to make two of the loaves with pecans and two without, for those who don't like nuts. I can't believe how delicious and light the texture. I was afraid it would be too gummy or dense but it was really lovely. I already want to make another batch, because this one is going to be gone very quickly! This recipe is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Yummy! Used apple sauce instead of margarine, egg substitute instead of eggs, and added 1tsp vanilla. A little toucgh on the outside but I think I'll just reduce cooking time or add a bit more applesauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dancemom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
excellent! i use brown sugar and add walnuts and raisins or cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
We enjoyed this! I followed other reviewers' feedback, and used applesauce and wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren N.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
so yummy! my 2 yr old has decided lately that she doesnt want to eat ANYTHING, so i tried these and she loves them! i changed a few things to make them healthier and they are sinful! used applesauce instead of margarine, whole wheat flour, added walnuts, cinnamon, nutmeg and 1/4 C. milled flaxseed... my husband even eats them too! bwa ha ha ha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This still tastes pretty good using light butter and egg beaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi Dektor Levine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I was really impressed that it came out moist and looked beautiful. The picture looked alittle flat but it doesn't come out that way. I'm on my 2nd loaf today and only added some pecans to add alittle crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This recipe was pretty good. I liked it because it wasn't as sweet as other recipes yet sweet enough to resemble the real thing... I did use whole oats and walnuts in the recipe to add a little more fiber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 373) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States