Lower Fat Banana Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I use half white and half brown sugar. Then I substitute some of the butter with applesauce to make it healthier. Delicious banana bread with less guilt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
very good - will be using this recipe from now on. subbed brown for white sugar, added cinnamon and a bit of vanilla, baked for one hour and was really perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
very tasty, a little chewy but good. needs about 50 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Because I don't keep margerine on hand, I used butter. I also used brewed unsweetened double-strength (four ounces water to one tea bag) chai instead of plain water to add a little more flavor to the banana bread. I got 12 biggish muffins out of one recipe and they baked up nicely. Next time, I might cut the egg back by one and add in unsweetened applesauce and cut the sugar by half. This would be great with chopped pecans, too. My bananas were REALLY ripe so the bread was a little sweet for us. This was simple enough for my youngest to help me make which I appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Very good banana bread! I'm the worst baker ever and this turned out perfect! I did add some chopped walnuts and used applesauce instead of margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I use this recipe all the time. It's wonderful! I always add walnuts for extra crunch (which ups the fat intake, but oh, well). :) A keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMarieBee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Easy recipe that worked wonderfully! Only change I made was adding 1/3 cup of brown sugar and 1/3 cup white sugar. Very moist and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keass171

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Carleton Place, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Collingwood, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This was delicious!! Will definitely make again. I usee 1 cup white flour and 2/3 cup whole wheat flour and added chocolate chips (between 1/4 and 1/2 cup). I used 3 medium bananas which was a little more than 1 cup mashed. Next time I will cut down on the sugar since the chocolate chips add plenty of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I've used this recipe for a couple of years; but I now I truly love it, but I make it for 36 servings (change in the calculate area) with everything the same, except... 1 1/2 cups sugar; 3/4 cup Smart Balance butter; 3/4 cup soy milk; 1 teaspoon baking powder; 3 teaspoons ground cinnamon; 1-16 oz package of semi-sweet choc. chips—— baked at 325*F for longer so that edges of the bread do not burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This was nowhere near as good as regular versions of banana bread but it was alright for low fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Gandee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 372) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States