Lower Fat Banana Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 7, 2009
of all the recipes i have found on this site, this has become one of the family favorites. i made a few minor changes....all similar to those already posted. i used applesauce rather than margarine, milk rather than water....and i dumped a whole slew of cinnamon in because that is just how we like it. i have given this recipe to many friends....all love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
It was eatable but a little bit heavy and not fluffy. I followed the recipe and did not change anything.(not a keeper) Last week I made another recipe and rated it yesterday (the best banana bread), This one is really the best like the recipe says it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
great thanks! used 1/2 wheat 1/2 white flour. only egg whites, and applesauce in place of the oil. Added 2 tbsp of ground flaxseed and used soy milk. Added little mini chocolate chips too.. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I tried it with the variations of half brown half white sugar, 1 cup white flour 2/3 cup wheat flour and added vanilla and cinnamon. Great - cooked a little too long - only took about 45-50 minutes in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
very yummy. i skipped the margarine and added 1 cup of applesauce which made the bread very nice and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sciv
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
yums. I made some tonight. it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I am giving this 4 stars because of the modifications that i make. If not for that, it is a 5. No white sugar, I use brown. Also, go for the butter and not marg! Add 1 tsp vanilla. I use 1 c whole wheat flour and 2/3 c finely ground oats. Sometimes I add 1 c choc chips and other times not. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
i absolutely love this recipe.....i made it for my husband and his family and its gone in one day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I feel it's a bit unfair to rate this because I changed it so much - but I'm actually not crazy about how it turned out, and I feel like maybe it would have been better had I followed the recipe. I followed reviewer's suggestions and added 1/2 cup banana, split the sugar into half white and half brown, swapped the water for milk, and added a little vanilla & cinnamon. Of all these changes, the only one I think I would not do again is adding the extra banana. It has a great flavor and is super moist, but is way too banana-y. The other changes seem to have worked, but I just wish it had more of a bread feel and instead it's all banana - maybe I didn't mush them up properly either lol. At any rate, it's still delicious and thank you for a great lower fat recipe! Now I think I'll go have another piece:)...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Nesbit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I just made this recipe today, and I have to say it was the BEST low fat b. bread I've ever had. I was looking for a quick, easy recipe to get rid of some banannas the were about to go. I didnt change the recipe at all. I just added some vanilla. =) Next time I make this I want to put some chocolate chips in it. YUMMY YUMMY!! :D I will definetly recommend this...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 373) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States