Lower Fat Banana Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
I LOVED this recipe. After mulling over all the reviews, I changed it up as follows: 1) Added 1/2 cup of bananas, 2) 1 Cup white flour, 2/3 cup wheat flour, 3) Did 1/2 brown and 1/2 white sugar, 4) used applesauce instead of margarine, 5) added 1t of vanilla, 6) added 1t of cinnamon, 6) used milk instead of water, and 7) added 1/2 cup of walnuts. It turned out SO moist and no different than full-fat banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
655 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2001
I replaced the margarine in this recipe with 1/8 cup applesauce and the eggs with 6 tbs. egg substitute. This made it completely fat free. It still came out as moist and delicious as ever!!! With these changes, you should lower the oven temperature to 325 and bake it for 40-45 minutes depending on oven. Great fat free recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
340 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2001
I, too substituted applesauce for the butter and used only egg whites, making this virtually fat-free. To battle my fiance's chocolate cravings, I added unsweetened cocoa powder to half the batter and made a two-layer loaf. Um, yum! Thanks for the healthy and versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
I have not tried this recipe yet, but must tell you that the shortening in almost any recipe can be replaced with applesauce. I've done it for years. In cookies the result is a moist cake-like texture. With dense "cakes" like banana bread, they come out super moist, but the bake time is usually slightly less than normal. You can also try using half shortening and half applesauce if you prefer more the traditional texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2002
I've made this banana bread several times now and each time it is moist, delicious, and absolutely scrumptious! Its never been bland or tasted like a low-fat version. Of course, the riper the bananas, the better the taste. I love that I can enjoy this wonderful banana bread without all the guilt. Its perfect on the go for a quick breakfast or afternoon snack. Even my fat-fee-low-fat skittish fiance loves this banana bread! He couldn't tell the difference! Thanks for this healthier low-fat version. Its a keeper. -sue
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2001
Excellent! I used milk in place of the water. I added some vanilla and a little almond extract. I also sprinkled some chocolate chips on top before I put it in the oven. Baked in 8x4 pan for 55 minutes. Very moist and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
OK. I have to admit - I added 1 cup raisins, 1 cup chopped walnuts and 1 cup chocolate chips, so this definitely wasn't "lowfat" when I was done. But, WOW was it good with the additions! I've made it twice now in the past two weeks to use up some bananas that got too ripe. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmartcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2002
Thought the recipie was very good, and didn't taste low fat, because it really isn't. 5 grams of fat when you have to keep fat grams to 30 grams and under a day just wasn't worth it. Won't make this recipie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Wow! All the taste without all the fat! I've made a number of full fat banana breads from this site and this low fat version is very, very good. I used 1/3 c. brown sugar, 1/3 c. white sugar, 3 mashed bananas, skim milk instead of water, Sunsweet Lighter Bake instead of the margarine, and added 1 tsp. of vanilla, 1 tsp. of cinnamon, and 1/4 tsp. of almond extract. It had a great texture and baked up very nice in 50 minutes. Also, Pam for baking is a life saver when baking breads!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2000
Thanks for the recipe!! It's really good especially for a banana bread that's not as fattening. Very moist & good flavors. I also added a bit of chopped walnuts... umm umm umm. One concern though- if using a 9x5 pan, you may want to check after 45 mins. I'm glad I did as anything longer would have dried it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States