Lower Fat Banana Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Loved it, made a few changes, but I thought it was moist and delicous. Also, saved some fat by substituting apple sauce for margarine...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I was really impressed! This has been sitting in my online recipe box for quite awhile now... such a shame! I used butter instead of margarine and used apple juice instead of water (more flavor?). I also made into muffins and dotted with some chocolate chips for fun. (Healthy additions, I know!) =) Final result was a great muffin - perfectly peaked, moist and delicious! Great banana flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This was such a good basic recipe for banana bread. I also used applesauce, milk, cinammon, vanilla, pumpkin pie spice, 1/2 brown and 1/2 white sugar and dressed it up with cranberries. I just had my first slice and I'm a happy camper, it's very moist but not mushy. I also added some brown sugar to the bottom of my pan :) I think what I liked most about this recipe is the versatility to make it your own. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I halved this recipe and used mini cake pans instead of a full bread pan. Following the directions exactly, the cakes only took about 25 minutes to bake! Just something to keep in mind for others who are also doing the mini cake thing. :) Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gillette

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
The first time I baked this recipe I followed the recipe almost exactly, using Margrine [added a little vanilla] Ths time I'm using apple sauce! It's in the oven right now! Delicous and Moist recipe, very well done!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I followed one of the reviewers suggestion and made muffins. The suggestion was to bake it at 325 for 30 minutes. I pulled my muffins out at 25 minutes and they were burned! I would like to try this again, but I would do either a loaf or bake the muffins for less time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
always great! sometimes i use as little as 1/3 of the sugar. sometimes i use even more bananas. oooh - and it's great to add cocoa powder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
After reading the first page of reviews, I decided to change a few things as well. I also used unsweetened applesauce instead of margarine, as well as substituted Egg Beaters egg whites (6 T) for eggs. Then I added a dash of cinnamon, ginger, and a splash of vanilla. I also added 1/2 c. of walnuts, because banana bread just isn't banana bread without walnuts. I poured the batter into muffin cups and it made 14 muffins at about 141 calories each. They turned out great, although I think I could have gotten away with cooking them for about 10 minutes less. I baked them for 40 minutes at 350 degrees, so next time I will try lowering the heat to 325 and baking them for 30 minutes or so. The smell while they were baking was amazing! Next time, I think I will experiment with lowering the sugar to 1/2 c. With the extra sweetness from the applesauce, I don't think it will be noticeable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This is my go-to banana bread recipe. Super easy to make, and you can add any kind of extra ingredients at the end. I am fond of either chocolate chips (1 cup) or cranberries (1 cup). Makes a really moist bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I made this recipe for my hubby to take to work and apparently they all flipped over it! One man even said "ohh! I think this may be better than the wife's!" haha. THAT's saying something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley Raymond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 373) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States