Lower Fat Banana Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Oh my, this recipe was awesome! I am always trying to healthify old standards and this was a really great version. Like others, I added just a few dashes of spice-cinnamon and nutmeg-and I actually baked it in my new 4-loaf baking pan, and so they baked much more quickly than one standard loaf (about 35 minutes) I was able to make two of the loaves with pecans and two without, for those who don't like nuts. I can't believe how delicious and light the texture. I was afraid it would be too gummy or dense but it was really lovely. I already want to make another batch, because this one is going to be gone very quickly! This recipe is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Yummy! Used apple sauce instead of margarine, egg substitute instead of eggs, and added 1tsp vanilla. A little toucgh on the outside but I think I'll just reduce cooking time or add a bit more applesauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dancemom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
excellent! i use brown sugar and add walnuts and raisins or cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
We enjoyed this! I followed other reviewers' feedback, and used applesauce and wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren N.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
so yummy! my 2 yr old has decided lately that she doesnt want to eat ANYTHING, so i tried these and she loves them! i changed a few things to make them healthier and they are sinful! used applesauce instead of margarine, whole wheat flour, added walnuts, cinnamon, nutmeg and 1/4 C. milled flaxseed... my husband even eats them too! bwa ha ha ha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This still tastes pretty good using light butter and egg beaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I was really impressed that it came out moist and looked beautiful. The picture looked alittle flat but it doesn't come out that way. I'm on my 2nd loaf today and only added some pecans to add alittle crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This recipe was pretty good. I liked it because it wasn't as sweet as other recipes yet sweet enough to resemble the real thing... I did use whole oats and walnuts in the recipe to add a little more fiber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Loved it, made a few changes, but I thought it was moist and delicous. Also, saved some fat by substituting apple sauce for margarine...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I was really impressed! This has been sitting in my online recipe box for quite awhile now... such a shame! I used butter instead of margarine and used apple juice instead of water (more flavor?). I also made into muffins and dotted with some chocolate chips for fun. (Healthy additions, I know!) =) Final result was a great muffin - perfectly peaked, moist and delicious! Great banana flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States