Lower Fat Banana Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
My favorite banana bread of all time -- the only recipe I'll use now. Given that I've seen banana bread recipes calling for an entire CUP of oil, using only 1/4 c of butter is pretty good. (I have, however, substituted fat-free vanilla yogurt for the butter --as an experiment-- and it did work OK, if you want to make it entirely fat free...).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Mine only needed to cook about 35 - 40 minutes. I noticed at 42 minutes that it looked almost burnt at the edges. I don't know if it's the high altitude but 350 for 35-40 minutes would be perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I also used 1/2 white & 1/2 brown sugar, leaving everything else as is & everyone loved it. Certainly as moist & tasty as other breads with higher fat & caloric content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brigantine, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
I made this bread for a work breakfast we were having. It disappeared so quickly and I received numerous compliments. I was pleased with the way it turned out, but thought it could have been a bit sweeter for my own personal taste. Next time I will do some of the substitutions others suggested such as applesauce instead of oil and 1/2 brown sugar 1/2 white. Overall a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Made this over the weekend (had 4 very brown, very soft bananas sitting on the counter). This recipe turned out great -- you can't even tell it's lower in fat. Just as moist as other more fattening versions. I did add 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla to my batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I had the recipe converter convert this to "6" to make 1/2 doz. muffins, cooked them for 20 min., and they were absolutely wonderful...light, full of banana flavor, and a recipe I'll definitely make again. A real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I followed another's suggestions and made the following changes: substituted 1/3 cup brown sugar for 1/3 cup of the white sugar; substituted applesauce for the margarine; substituted skim milk for the water; substituted 2/3 cup wheat flour for 2/3 cup of the all-purpose flour; added 1 tsp vanilla; and added 1 tsp cinnamon. This is truly the best banana bread I've ever had and it's so much better for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephens City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I used applesauce instead of margarine, 1 cup of whole wheat and 2/3 cup of all purpose and added a tsp of cinnamon. Just realized I forgot the 1/4 cup of water but I planned to substitute that with milk. Even without the extra liquid it was still plenty moist...probably because of the applesauce substitution. I also added 1/2 cup of wheat germ and 3 tablespoons of rice protien powder. I made mini muffins and baked for 18 minutes on 350. Great snacks for the kiddos. Anyone have any suggestions on cutting back the sugar? I figure using honey would probably help. But, 2/3 cup seems like a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOKORBA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Oh my, this recipe was awesome! I am always trying to healthify old standards and this was a really great version. Like others, I added just a few dashes of spice-cinnamon and nutmeg-and I actually baked it in my new 4-loaf baking pan, and so they baked much more quickly than one standard loaf (about 35 minutes) I was able to make two of the loaves with pecans and two without, for those who don't like nuts. I can't believe how delicious and light the texture. I was afraid it would be too gummy or dense but it was really lovely. I already want to make another batch, because this one is going to be gone very quickly! This recipe is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Yummy! Used apple sauce instead of margarine, egg substitute instead of eggs, and added 1tsp vanilla. A little toucgh on the outside but I think I'll just reduce cooking time or add a bit more applesauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dancemom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States