Lower Fat Banana Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
I just baked this wonderful banana bread and love it! I used 6 tbsp. of egg substitute and 2 tbsp. apple sauce instead of margarine, added a splash of vanilla extract and sprinkle chocolate chips on top before popping it in the oven and it came out fantabulous! I baked in oven at 325 deg. for about an hour until knife came out clean. I will DEFINITELY keep this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This was very good and moist, but I wish it had a little more banana flavor, and I even added extra. I did add the vanilla, cinammon, and nutmeg too. I will definitely make this again. My friend tried it and she liked it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Should've used brown sugar instead, but I was rushing. I did remember to add some cinnamon, walnuts, raisins, milk instead of water, cake flour instead of all purpose, and vanilla and coconut extract though. It wasn't bad. Kind of normal ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Delicious, very good and moist. Used half wheat and half white flour. sprinkled some chopped hazelnuts on top. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This bread came out so good and moist! I substituted applesauce for margarine and added a tsp. of vanilla. Used a large muffin pan and baked for 27 mins at 325.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I replaced the margarine in this recipe with 1/8 cup applesauce and the eggs with 6 tbs. egg substitute. This made it completely fat free. It still came out as moist and delicious as ever!!! With these changes, you should lower the oven temperature to 325 and bake it for 40-45 minutes depending on oven. Great fat free recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tavana Collins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plympton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Uxbridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Delicious!! I always made the full fat version, and this was just as good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Defiance, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Delicious! I used half margarine/half applesauce and reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup. It's crusty outside and moist (but not too dense) inside. You could cook it at a lower temp if you wanted it less crusty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Larchmont, New York, USA
Living In: Wolfville, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This was a very easy and tasty recipe. I made it exactly as written and the whole family loved it. I am sure that there are better banana bread recipes out there - but for a "lower fat" version, this was really good! I will definitely make it again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hanford, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I used organic white whole wheat flour and it didn't quite come out as I expected. I also need to get a better loaf pan..one that is thicker. It was a bit dry on the bottom and still uncooked at the top. Overall pretty good, it just needs some perfecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 373) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States