Lower Fat Banana Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
I did make some alterations as did others to make this even lower in fat. I used unsweetened applesauce in place of the margarine and egg beaters instead of whole eggs. I also used half white sugar and half splenda brown sugar blend. The bread did turn out moist and tasty, but it was really dense. Not sure if this is the normal outcome with this recipe, the result of my substitutions, or something else I might have done. I don't mind that its dense; it just wasn't what I expected! Still very yummy and moist, so that's all that matters to me. In fact, it may be a little easier to toast in the toaster this way. If I could do 4 1/2 I would, because this is a great tasting low fat recipe. Not quite a five for me since it really has to be "to die for" in order for me to give a five.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Awesome banana bread! I followed the recipe to a T and it turned out perfect! I will use this recipe whenever I make banana bread! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by windband
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
Yummy!! I added some 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract and 1 teaspoon of cinnamon. It tasted great!! Definitely a keeper! ******* To lower fat, I suggest using apple sauce. I used all butter this time. After the bread cooled, it was so greasy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windband

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
I used Becel (non-hydrogenated margarine) and added a little vanilla and a little cinnamon. The bread turns out so moist. I like the fact there is so little sugar and the baking time is exact. I have given this recipe to friends and they love it too. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I followed this recipe exactly, I didn't make changes. I did use butter instead of margarine, and I just used three bananas instead measuring them out because I've heard 1 cup of mashed bananas takes 2-3 bananas. This recipe makes excellent banana bread. I just finished a piece. The temperature/time ratio seems just about perfect, I was impressed because normally I have to bake bread for longer than the recipe calls for. I wanted a healthier option for banana bread so it would fit under the "bread" category, not "cake". I this recipe does it well, not comprimising on flavor or taste. This is a new one of my favorites. I think I'm going to have to go eat another slice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
This recipe is great! To make it a bit healthier I added an extra half cup of bananas, 1/3 cup applesauce, 2 tbls. of ground flax seed and reduced the butter to 1/8. It was awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
I also changed it up a little, instead of magarine I used a small jar of "Heinz - Applesauce and banana in oatmeal cereal" babyfood. Sounds strange, I know, but I have a 6 month old. I also used eggwhites in place of the eggs. I used the suggestion from earlier to add cocoa to the bottom half. This has turned out to be the best banana bread recipe I have ever tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
This recipe was delicious! I added walnuts and vanilla. My husband loved it! We had it for dessert last night and again for breakfast this morning. Very good, healthy recipe. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
very good! i used a bit less sugar(it said 135 grams, i used 100 grams) and it was exactly sweet enough! nice soft texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by taranee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: The Hague, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
I just baked this wonderful banana bread and love it! I used 6 tbsp. of egg substitute and 2 tbsp. apple sauce instead of margarine, added a splash of vanilla extract and sprinkle chocolate chips on top before popping it in the oven and it came out fantabulous! I baked in oven at 325 deg. for about an hour until knife came out clean. I will DEFINITELY keep this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 372) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States