Lower Fat Banana Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This was really easy and tasted great! I used sweet and low instead of sugar to make this recipe sugar-free. I followed the suggestions and added vanilla and cinnamon, and also substituted milk for water. I think I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICUP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
This recipe gets 5 stars from me just for being such a delicious tasting low fat recipe. I used 1/3 cup of applesauce and 1 T light butter for butter and eggbeaters for the eggs, added a teaspoon each of vanilla and cinnamon. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oroville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Very good. Replace butter with applesauce and consider choc. chip cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Delicious!! I used 3 bananas without measuring and I'm hoping and thinking that it was more than 1 cup. Tastes good with more banana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This is without a doubt one of the best banana bread recipes I have ever had. The only thing that I changed was I used brown sugar instead of white. Delicious and easy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof3greatboys

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vilas, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I to alter a bit, used 2Tbl of real butter and the rest unsweetened applesauce, subed skim milk for water and put whole pecans and chocolate chips on top. I think I will try in a cake pan next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Harvest, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This is the best banana bread I've ever tasted! I did make some changes: I used brown sugar instead of white, fat-free milk instead of water, and used real butter instead of margarine. I added about 3/8 tsp of cinnamon. After reading other reviews, I checked it after 45 minutes - I ended up baking it for 52 minutes, and it was perfect! I will definitely be using this recipe for my home-baked Christmas gifts next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrittneyT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Excellent "healthy" banana bread recipe! Made the following mods according to previous reviewers suggestions: substituted brown sugar for white, 1 cup whole wheat flour + 2/3 cup white flour for 1 2/3 cup white flour, unsweetened applesauce for butter (used entire little individual size carton - about 1/3 cup), ff milk for water; used 3 bananas mashed(about 1 1/4 cups); added 1 t. vanilla, 1 t. cinnamon and 1/2 cup chopped walnuts; baked for 50 minutes at 325 degrees. May up the cinnamon and add some nutmeg next time to spice it up a bit more. This recipe has just rocketed to the top of my banana bread recipe list! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaniger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I used half wheat and half white flour, reduced the butter to 1/8 cup and sugar to 1/8 cup of brown, increased the bananas to 1.5 cups (everyone's moving out for winter break and we needed to use up the fruit). I'm a college student just starting out in the kitchen and have made so many terrible quick breads, so I was amazed when it turned out deliciously moist, naturally sweet and light and the experienced chefs in my house said it was really tasty and asked for more! It's whole wheat, low-fat and low-sugar, what more could you ask for? Thank you for this amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Letitia Lew

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Added 1 tsp. vanilla.Instead of margaine used 50/50 smart butter and 3 bananas. Made 16 paper lined muffins.Great low cal muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 373) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States