Lowcountry Shrimp and Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Excellent, quick and simple recipe just as it is. I did add about 1/8 tsp of red pepper and 1/8 tsp of paprika and about 3/4 cup of gratd sharp cheddar cheese. I followed the rest of the recipe. we did only used a precooked 12 oz. package of shrimp. So it was added with the onions for a couple of minutes to heat it. The results were extremely good. I embellished the shrimp and grits for serving with thawed spinach for garnish...I had nothing else! The whole meal was fantastic and we ate the entire menu of food, so I guess that makes a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
the grits were fantastic I use another recipe for garlic shrimp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommySmith
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Best shrimp and grits I have ever had. I did follow the recipe but added rosemary, garlic, and processed cheese to mine. I am from the south as well but in Alabama we cheese up our grits. We ate twice off this recipe which would be satisfying to a family of 4, possibly a family of 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I cooked this recipe for one...I added a little basil pesto to mine, gave it a little extra flavor. I sautéed the shrimp added to the grits before serving so they would be overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
A bit bland for Rural Louisiana. I added more butter, garlic, crab boil, bay leaves, cream cheese, grated cheese, cayenne and salt and pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
OK recipe... Not a true Low Country recipe... No Old Bay anywhere in it. No Hillshire Farms smoked sausage. Extra virgin olive oil...really... It's like, other than that Ms Lincoln, how did you like the play. Jack's Ole South
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I add some cajun seasoning and cheddar cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cch0830

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cochran, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I added cheese to my grits and cooked the shrimps less than suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
for an added twist add 1/2 cup of grated habinero jack cheese. go ahead add a little kick to your evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lowcountry Shrimp and Grits

See how to make shrimp and grits the Charleston way.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States