Lowcountry Shrimp and Cheese Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2001
this is SO good and SO easy! notes: i cooked the grits in 2 c. chicken broth and 1 c. half & half, instead of water. i sauteed some leeks (white part only) with garlic, then added the shrimp. right before the shrimp were done, i added about 1/4 c. chicken broth and the diced / seeded tomato; this gives the shrimp a "sauce". when serving, i garnished the grits with crumbled bacon, and the shrimp with thinly sliced green onion tops. have available tabasco-type sauce for those who like more spice. excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2001
Pretty good. We couldn't find the garlic cheese spread at Kroger's store so we improvised and used a mixture of cheddar cheese, cream cheese, and garlic to taste. It turned out OKAY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
I love grits, shrimp and tomatoes so I thought I would like this but it was even better than I expected. I added a clove of garlic to the shrimp saute. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
This was fantastic! I read the reviews and as suggested I substituted the water in the grits for 2 cups chicken broth and 1 cup half and half. Also, I added leeks to the pan before adding the shrimp.I have always loved shrimp and grits, but never had a recipe this good.....until now! I will make this many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Greensboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
Very Very Good, and super fast! I have never made shrimp and grits with tomatoes until this recipe and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2002
This is a great recipe! I left off the tomatoes, since I'm not fond of them. It's so easy, great for a Saturday night supper, after working in the garden all day. Thanks a lot! Elaine - Spartanburg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Awesome recipe and super easy to cook for an after work dinner meal. Plus the garlic cheese spread in the grits created an amazing flavor. The only thing I would have done differently (and I did) was add Old Bay seasoning to the shrimp. Cause how are they low-country without this seafood staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
This was great! I've been meaning to make this forever, because I've always enjoyed shrimp and grits in restaurants when I order it. This tasted different than the way I was used to, but still very good. I did as a previous reviewer suggested and made my grits with chicken broth and milk, and put a little chicken broth in with the oil and butter to sautee the shrimp also. I threw in some asparagus with the shrimp and tomoatoes that I had sitting around, and fresh crushed garlic in both the shrimp and grit pans, and I used Velveeta as the cheese for the grits. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
Sorry, my family and I just didn't care for this recipe. It tasted o.k. but we didn't like the texture of the grits. Very gummy. Perhaps they sat around too long while the other ingredients were cooking. My husband didn't seem to mind - he ate a huge plateful. I doubt I will make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Your grits are too crunchy! Grits cooking ratio is 4 to 1. Four cups liquid to one cup grits, and you have to boil them alot longer than five min,,at least 15 to 20 min. But the cheese and garlic is a great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dadeuel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Donough, New York, USA
Living In: Americus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lowcountry Shrimp and Grits

See how to make shrimp and grits the Charleston way.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States