Lowcountry Shrimp and Cheese Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
I made this for supper last night. It was very easy to prepare. My husband loved it. I have to admit, I did not like the garlic taste but he did. He said this was a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Huzzer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
This recipe was great and quick, I made a quick, easy lunch that tasted great. The only thing I couldn't find was the garlic cheese, instead I added some garlic salt and cheddar cheese to plain grits. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I took other contributors' suggestions of cooking the grits with chicken stock and milk, adding a large pinch of cayenne to the cooked grits and garnishing with cooked, diced bacon (I used Oscar Meyer's turkey bacon to cut out some fat and it was delicious). My own addition to the recipe was sauteeing diced onions in the bacon grease, then adding the oil and butter to the cooked onions and sauteeing the shrimp in this mixture. Very rich and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dewey, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This was so good! I used the suggestion of chicken broth and half and half for the grits and it was soooo creamy!! I used regular velvetta and added some chopped garlic. I had a friend over for dinner and she does not even really like grits and loved them. Her fiance is from the north and had never had cheese grits and he said he really liked them too. I liked it b/c it was very easy to make and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I cooked the recipe as written except I couldn't find 7oz. pkgs. of garlic cheese so I used a 5oz pkg. instead. My husband really liked it and it was super easy and fast to make. Next time, I'll try using the chicken broth and milk instead of water for the grits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
I was really disappointed in this recipe. The shrimp was okay, but the grits had too much garlic. I'm from the South, so I love shrimp and grits. Perhaps my expectations were too high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
hello, i made this for my mother's birthday dinner and it was a HIT. i did not have spend all day in the kitchen.i follow a few suggetions using chicken broth ,half and halfand the crumbled fresh bacon dressed the plates and was all so very tasty. A+++ indeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
This was fantastic! I read the reviews and as suggested I substituted the water in the grits for 2 cups chicken broth and 1 cup half and half. Also, I added leeks to the pan before adding the shrimp.I have always loved shrimp and grits, but never had a recipe this good.....until now! I will make this many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Greensboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
I love grits, shrimp and tomatoes so I thought I would like this but it was even better than I expected. I added a clove of garlic to the shrimp saute. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
This was great! I've been meaning to make this forever, because I've always enjoyed shrimp and grits in restaurants when I order it. This tasted different than the way I was used to, but still very good. I did as a previous reviewer suggested and made my grits with chicken broth and milk, and put a little chicken broth in with the oil and butter to sautee the shrimp also. I threw in some asparagus with the shrimp and tomoatoes that I had sitting around, and fresh crushed garlic in both the shrimp and grit pans, and I used Velveeta as the cheese for the grits. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lowcountry Shrimp and Grits

See how to make shrimp and grits the Charleston way.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States