Lowcountry Shrimp and Cheese Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Loved this recipe, only change I made was to use a different cheese flavor because I don't like garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wstbrkfan1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Awesome recipe and super easy to cook for an after work dinner meal. Plus the garlic cheese spread in the grits created an amazing flavor. The only thing I would have done differently (and I did) was add Old Bay seasoning to the shrimp. Cause how are they low-country without this seafood staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Wonderful!! Couldn't be easier and taste fantastic. I used instant grits with water and a little whipping cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Wonderful!! I did add some smoked sausage to this recipe but other than that kept to the original ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
The more tomato the better. I added the bacon crumbles and it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red_Hott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I've made this three times and it comes out great every time!! I make a cream sauce to go over the shrimp and grits and I think it really adds flavor to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lippyTiffy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fleming Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MAMALEIGH
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I like this recipe for its simplicity, but it definitely didn't knock my socks off. I thought the grits lacked flavor, but it may have been the cheese that I used. I used garlic and herb pub cheese spread. I added some cheddar and sallt. I had planned to cook the grits in chicken broth, but I forgot to buy the broth. The shrimp is really simple, though I did add some minced garlic. The shrimp and grits are a nice combination, though I couldn't eat these grits on their own. This was th efirst time that I made shrimp and grits at home, and I was pretty satisfied with the results. If I were to make this recipe again, I'd try a different type of cheese. I"ll probably try out a few more recipes, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMALEIGH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
I loved this recipe. I added chicken broth, cherry tomatoes and scallions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Cooked this for my wife (Thelma) and she called it a winner. I used a ham broth left from the cooking the shank bone and the half & half ( as suggested above). Also, I used chopped tomatoes & chillies and just dumped the can in after adding the garlic cheese. As the grits cooked, I did the shrimp. . .adding about 3 tbsp of cooking sherry to grits and the cooking shrimp. When shrimp were pink, I just dumped them into the grits and cheese and stirred it all together. Did make a tasso gravy with ham, sherry, corn starch, little ham broth and little half & half. Spooned it over the top of the shrimp & grits I served in a bowl and garnished with green onion. Raves all around the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lowcountry Shrimp and Grits

See how to make shrimp and grits the Charleston way.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States