Lowcountry Shrimp and Cheese Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Marcie Killian
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Loved this! Couldn't find the garlic cheese spread, so I used the garlic butter spread and just added about 1/3 cup of parmasean cheese to the grits. I did saute shallots and chopped garlic in the pan before adding the shrimp. It was very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcie Killian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This is the best and easiest shrimp and grits recipe! I have also added andouille sausage sometimes for a different flavor, excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
grits should not be made with water. they should use whole milk. and what is garlic cheese spread. use real foods please. this is flavorless as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Yum! I used chive and onion cream cheese and a little garlic powder instead of the garlic cheese spread. Everything else stayed the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
This was so easy and delish! We really do not eat that processed cheese stuff so I used 1 c. shredded cheese instead. I also cooked the grits in 2 c. chicken broth, 1 c. half & half per previous reviews but added 3/4 head of crushed garlic (we LOVE garlic). It was so good even the children ate it right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
The best thing for breakfast that I've ever had!!! So delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lumberton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Um, delicious! Love this dish! I used Laughing Cow garlic and herb cheese. Boursin was just too expensive for an experiment. Shrimp cooked in butter and oil was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Your grits are too crunchy! Grits cooking ratio is 4 to 1. Four cups liquid to one cup grits, and you have to boil them alot longer than five min,,at least 15 to 20 min. But the cheese and garlic is a great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dadeuel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Donough, New York, USA
Living In: Americus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I subbed low sodium chicken broth for the water when making the grits, and light garlic and herb cheese. Other reviewers had mentioned sautéing a leek with the shrimp and since I had one lonely leek in the fridge I decided to follow their lead. After sautéing the shrimp I added chicken broth and seeded, quartered cherry tomatoes to make a bit of a sauce. Tasty and quick, I will definitely make this shrimp dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Loved this recipe, only change I made was to use a different cheese flavor because I don't like garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wstbrkfan1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lowcountry Shrimp and Grits

See how to make shrimp and grits the Charleston way.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States