Lowcountry Shrimp and Cheese Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
I loved this recipe. I added chicken broth, cherry tomatoes and scallions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Cooked this for my wife (Thelma) and she called it a winner. I used a ham broth left from the cooking the shank bone and the half & half ( as suggested above). Also, I used chopped tomatoes & chillies and just dumped the can in after adding the garlic cheese. As the grits cooked, I did the shrimp. . .adding about 3 tbsp of cooking sherry to grits and the cooking shrimp. When shrimp were pink, I just dumped them into the grits and cheese and stirred it all together. Did make a tasso gravy with ham, sherry, corn starch, little ham broth and little half & half. Spooned it over the top of the shrimp & grits I served in a bowl and garnished with green onion. Raves all around the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This was AWESOME! My hubby wouldn't stop talking about it for days. He brought the leftovers to work, where he became quite popular after offering samples to his colleagues. Like others suggested, I also boiled the grits in a combo of broth and milk. I also tossed in with the shrimp a (drained) can of Rotel to give it a bit of a spicy kick. Since I couldn't find the garlic cheese, I added 1 cup of shredded pepper jack and 3/4 cup of shredded cheddar to the grits. Turned out wonderfully. Thanks for such a delicious recipe! Even my mother-in-law (who's quite the gourmet) wants the recipe after hearing my hubby go on and on about it. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERINUNC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This was absolutely delicious. I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hrhsun
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
This was very good. I also used 2 cups chicken broth, one cup half and half in the grits. I used a lot of salt and after it was cooked, I put in sharp white cheddar and a little bit of left over brie. Also three cloves of fresh minced garlic. For the shrimp part, I sauteed bacon first. Then in a clean pan, I put in some olive oil and butter, added the shrimp and some green onions, sauteed, and added yellow heirloom tomatoes and a little bit of some crumbled bacon. When I put them together, I added additional green tops from the scallions and more crumbled bacon. This was really really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hrhsun
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Really good and really fast! I did not have any fresh tomato so I omitted it. I used 2 cups of chicken broth and 1 cup 2% milk to cook the grits. I chopped up some onion and garlic and sauted in the oil before I added the shrimp and then used some cajun seasoning and smoky paprika on the shrimp. Used the cheese I had on-hand - some sharp american cheese slices and some medium cheddar which I grated up. The grits were creamy and rich with the cheese - a stick-to-your-ribs dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
4 stars rather than 5 because of the garlic cheese roll. In 30 years of shopping I've never found it outside the southeast. AND I don't like processed cheese. Real cheese of your choice can be substituted. I wanted a recipe to make immediately, so I used ingredients on hand: - Precooked shrimp worked fine. I roughly chopped them (better for the bites with grits) and sauted with olive oil and plenty of garlic. I added drained diced tomatoes. (Good fresh tomato would undoubtedly be better, but the canned was fine.) I added a sprinkle of red pepper flakes, which I think was a great addition. - Grits: I'd never heard of using milk for part of the liquid. I tried it; it didn't seem to add anything and the milk scorched quickly.) I added the drained tomato liquid and it gave it a pretty color. I stirred in 3/4 of the grated cheese I had on hand (Emmentaler, which I thought I'd love or hate -- loved it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I have to say that even though this wasn't the best shrimp and grits that I've ever had, it was pretty good. I took the advice of other reviewers by using chk. broth and half and half. I also used minced garlic and velveeta since I don't think they make the garlic cheese roll anymore. Next time, will cut back on the tomatoes (I used a can of petite diced) and use fresh, not frozen shrimp. Husband said it was a keeper! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
This recipe was very good. I used the regular velvetta and just added garlic. Still womderful. Also I added a little old bay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Yummy! I took other reviewers' suggestions and cooked the grits in 2C chicken broth and 1C half and half. I only added about 3 oz. of Boursin cheese to cut back on the fat, but the grits were still creamy and delicious. I sauteed the shrimp with olive oil and a splash of dry white wine. I left out the tomatoes, but added onion and garlic to the shrimp. My husband, who had never had grits before, really enjoyed this meal. Served it with a garden salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Papillion, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lowcountry Shrimp and Grits

See how to make shrimp and grits the Charleston way.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States