Low Sugar Strawberry Rhubarb Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
Really enjoyed this. Used a little over 2 tablespoons of cornstarch for thickening and Splenda brown sugar blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
quick used half recipie but all the topping, add 2 tb.cornstarch to fruit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
Very good. Would make again but would eliminate the honey. Topping did not get as crunchy as I thought even though I left it in oven longer but it still tasted great !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
We have a large rhubarb patch so I made this last night because it was so easy and quick. It was awesome but like other reviewers I found it was too runny. Next time I will toss 1-2 Tbs tapioca with the fruit along with 2 Tbs (or to taste) Splenda brown and will cut down on the sugar load (dietary reasons) even more by using Splenda brown in the topping. I will also add another 1/2 c. oatmeal and forget the honey as it added nothing to the flavor and little to the sweetness. With the changes it could make a relatively healthy breakfast alternative perhaps topped with a drizzle of half and half. YUMeee! Suz190
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
Disappointing. Soupy, not sweet enough, and certainly not picture worthy. Adding sugar and a thickening agent (cornstarch or flour) would be simple and necessary improvements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2015
Good- added 2 tbsp of honey, added pecans on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna McGuire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I doubled this recipe and added a cup of blackberries, one Tablespoon of tapioca for thickening, and a half cup of raw sugar. What a great dessert to serve to family at the end of Summer tomorrow!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Margaret Warren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emmett, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I added 2 TBS cornstarch. Serve with yogurt or whipped cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I made this last night with farmer's market rhubarb. I substituted jarred Trader Joe's peaches for the second fruit as my options were limited. It was great and was eaten by 3 people completely that night. I did add the cornstarch as recommended and used 1/2 butter, 1/2 canola oil. Thanks for the great, healthy recipe. A fabulous way to enjoy summer fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Awesome recipe!! So yummy for having very little sugar. I did however make some changes. I used 2 tbsp honey and microwaved the rhubarb with the honey for 4 min and then mixed in the strawberries. I also added 2 tbsp cornstarch to fruit mixture. I doubled the topping portion of the recipe except for the brown sugar. I still only used 1/2 cup for the whole thing. Also instead of butter I used applesauce and only cooked for 30 instead of 40 min. Must try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States