Low Sugar Strawberry Rhubarb Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
What a GREAT way to use Rhubarb and strawberry togeather. The tablespoon of honey was JUST RIGHT. Was a light, sweet-tart desert. Only thing that would of made it better would have been if I had ice cream to go on top. My husband loved it. Anything made with rhubarb, in our book, is good, and this is excelent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
This needed either flour or cornstarch or tapioca to thicken all of the liquid that resulted from cooking the fruit. It tasted great, but consistiency left a little to be desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
Great recipe! All I would add: it really does need something to thicken the juice from the fruit. I added a T. of flour and that still wasn't quite enough. Otherwise, very good summer desert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
This recipe turned out pretty well. The flavor was great, thus the 5 stars. I did make a few changes, I added a 1/2 teaspoon of lemon juice and 1 tablespoon of cornstarch to the fruit mixture. Even after letting it sit for 15 minutes after coming out of the oven the filling was still kind of liquidy so I think next time I will use 2 tablespoons cornstarch. For the topping I used 1/4 cup brown sugar splenda blend. I also think that a few more minutes of baking time would have been better to ensure that the rhubarb was tender. But I'm definitely keeping this recipe. It's absolutely delicious. I had to convince my husband to not eat it all in one sitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar City, Utah, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Jabaay
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
A very good recipe for a low sugar alternative to regular strawberry rhubarb crunch. I added 2 tbsp of flour to the second batch to thicken the texture a bit. The first batch came out runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jabaay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
This was really great, especially for a healthier version of crisp. I did use an extra tbsp or so of honey because the person I was making it for doesn't like rhubarb desserts to be too tart. I was glad I did, otherwise it may have been too tart even for me. I added 2 tbsp of cornstarch after reading the previous reviews and it was perfect - not too runny in the least. For the topping I used 1/8 cup butter and 1/8 cup light margarine and it turned out really well. Delicious with vanilla ice cream!! I'll make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
very good. I didn't measure the honey just squeezed it in with the rhubarb and strawberries. I did add 2 tablespoons of cornstarch as others mentioned, it turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
Very easy and quick. Good recipe. I didn't have any fresh strawberries so I used frozen in tub (with sugar). I still used honey too. But I wished I would have also added 1/4 c sugar. Mine was a little too tart. I did add 2 T cornstarch. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: De Soto, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
I thought this was best cold with a little Cool Whip. I added 2 tblsp cornstarch but it was still pretty liquid after cooking. Instant oatmeal worked OK for the topping. If I make it again I will add a tsp. of Splenda and reduce the cooking time by 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
I made this over the weekend for my husband and brother and we all loved it. My husband prefers sweet to tart, so I added an extra tablespoon of honey for him. I also added toasted slivered almonds -- the extra crunch was really great. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States