Low Sugar Strawberry Rhubarb Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
quickly became my favorite strawberry rhubarb recipe-love that it is low sugar and has no flour-did add the cornstarch but other than that love the recipe as written-not too sweet like many fruit recipes-thanks for sharing it! Is also good made with other fruits such as peaches and blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Being a rhubarb lover I enjoyed this recipe but my husband who's not a bit fan of the sour/tart flavor did not care for it too much. My changes: I used 3 Tbsp of splenda and 2 Tbsp of corn starch in with the fruit and then used the splenda brown sugar mixture for the brown sugar part of the recipe. I baked it in a 9 x 13 pan for 10 minutes longer than the recipe called for and the fruit was soft and the top a nice, crunchy brown mixture. I took what little leftovers there were after my family dug into it and mixed it in with some cooked oatmeal for breakfast and added some fresh blueberries and oddly enough the texture and taste was similar to the strawberry rhubarb pie my mom makes. I may make this again and if I do I'll add more splenda to the fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenelle D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
This recipe is fabulous! I did add more honey (2 Tbs) and 2 Tbs of Corn Starch as recommended by others. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
This is definitely a little more tart than your standard rhubarb recipe, but I love the fact that it only has a 1/2 c. sugar in it. I did increase to 2 T. honey and added 2 T. cornstarch per the suggestions here. I also tried it with some chopped pecans with the oat mixture. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
This was delicious. I made a couple of changes adding 2 Tbs cornstarch for thickning and 2 Tbs Splenda in place of honey for filling. I also replaced brown sugar with Splenda brown sugar mix. I am on Weight Watchers and this was equivelent to 4 points at 8 servings. Add a little low fat topping or ice cream and you will have a dessert that everyone will rave about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
Very nice recipe. I use maple and brown sugar oatmeal for the topping and it is amazing! I also cut down a bit on the rhubarb and ub the honey by 1/2 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
Loved this recipe! What drew me to it was the 'low sugar' part. I made a few changes - I added 1/4 cup of splenda to sweeten it. Other reviews said that the recipe was a bit tart and I really wanted this first attempt at introducing Rhubarb to the family to succeed. That - and I put a granola/brown sugar topping instead of the rolled oats. Made for a fantastic topping. Thanks for this recipe! We can't wait to buy more rhubarb and make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
added a little more sugar, corn starch, and some lemon juice as well. Very tasty, it was exactly what i wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
Very good - I used cornstarch as suggested and it wasn't runny - scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Armstrong, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
Wonderful tangy taste. However the topping works better with a little flour added. I put in 1/2 cup and spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States