Low Sugar Strawberry Rhubarb Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I love rhubarb--I can even eat it raw all by itself--but this was just too sour for me. I ended up having to sprinkle sugar over the top of each serving and add a generous dollap of cool whip to cut the tartness. Which is really a shame b/c I love the idea of this recipe. One of my friends said she liked it, but the other also thought it was too sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
Fabulous. I loved it and hubby raved. I used agave nectar instead of honey, and added a little extra for my unquenchable sweet tooth. Turned out great! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Yum! Great recipe. I did mix 2 T of cornstarch in with the rhubarb and strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Add a bit more sweetener to the fruit. I halved the recipe, but used 1T of honey. I used equal parts strawberries and rhubarb. Tim liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This is a great basic recipe. I did take the advice of other reviewers and used 2 small tbsp of flour (I used whole wheat) to soak up any juice. I also used frozen strawberries instead of fresh. I look forward to making this for potlucks and family gatherings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
wonderful recipe the only recipe I use anymore
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kutztown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Wonderful! I used Splenda brown sugar for the topping, which calls for half the measured amount of regular brown sugar and there didn't seem to be enough crumb topping then, so if you use the Splenda brown sugar, I'd still use the measured amount the recipe calls for. Fruit was great! I loved the fact that it was sweetened with honey and not a bunch of sugar! Will definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Excellent recipe! I have made it with strawberries and rhubarb, and also as strawberries and apples. I did not add honey to the fruit mixture - but I did microwave the fruit for about 8-10 minutes - to soften it a bit - otherwise I have found that the rhubarb or the apples have stayed too firm but I couldn't leave it in the oven any longer for fear it might burn. I use canola oil instead of the margering in the crunch topping. Usually I use 1/2 oil and 1/2 applesauce to reduce the fat in the crunch and it does not come out soggy. I also make 4x the topping and spread 1/2 on the bottom of my ceramic dish, fill the middle with the fruit and then sprinkle the top with the rest of the topping. This dish is great served warm or even at room temprature! It freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
It is a little tart even though i added an extra tablespoon of honey. I also added two tablespoons of corn starch. The thickness is just right. Other wise it is just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
quickly became my favorite strawberry rhubarb recipe-love that it is low sugar and has no flour-did add the cornstarch but other than that love the recipe as written-not too sweet like many fruit recipes-thanks for sharing it! Is also good made with other fruits such as peaches and blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States