Low Sugar Strawberry Rhubarb Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Good lower sugar option for the classic strawberry rhubarb taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I added an extra half pint of strawberries, used 2 tablespoons of honey, and 2 heaping tablespoons of cornstarch (due to extra strawberries). I also sprinkled a tablespoon of sugar over the fruit before adding topping. I replaced 1/4 cup of oats with flour as well. This came out nice and crunchy. If you like the crunch and are not afraid of the sugar, I recommend doubling the topping. This will also allow you to cook the dish an extra five or ten minutes to make sure the rhubarb is nice and soft. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
My 6 & 7 yr old boys LOVED this and gobbled it up! Reading other reviews, I did add 2 T Cornstarch and 1/2 t lemon juice. Also, instead of brown sugar I used Organic Sucanat and a stick of butter because I didn't read it good enough. Of course, that probably made it even more delicious! A definate keeper though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vinton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Great recipe and easily adjusted to your tastes. I didn't have 4 cups of rhubarb or an entire pint of strawberries and the recipe still turned out wonderful. Add lemon juice for an extra zing and corn starch to absorb some of the extra juice. Love this lighter and easier alternative to pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Great recipe. Husband is diabetic so I used Splenda in place of the honey (too many carbs) and Splenda Brown Sugar in place of the brown sugar. Did follow others' suggestion, and added 2 tbsps of cornstarch for thickening. I was hoping for a thicker crunch top, so added a bit more Splenda brown sugar and a bit more oatmeal. Should have added more oatmeal, so the topping wasn't quite so thin. Next time I'll use an 8x8 inch pan instead of a 13x9. Other than that, we all loved it! Served it cooled, with sugar free Cool Whip. Hubby, who isn't crazy about rhubarb, raved about it. 8 year old grandson, who loves rhubarb and strawberries, had TWO big helpings! GRRRREAT recipe! I'll definitely use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Delicious. Added more honey and also a dash of lemon juice. I think this will be my new standard crisp recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Thios is really good and I make as written, but double the fruit. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
As is, I don't think my family would have liked this at all. You see, I come from a family of MAJOR sweet tooths...1 tbs of honey in a rhubarb filling was just not going to cut it for them. I upped the amount to 3 tbs, and i thought it was perfect. Because I only had frozen rhubarb and strawberries, my filling was really runny. I added about a tbs. of cornstarch, which helped some. The topping was delicious...I kept snitching it as I cut the butter in :P I was a little disappointed in this, though, because the topping sank into the filling as it baked. This made the filling less runny, but I was hoping the topping would get all crispy and stay on top. Oh, well. I served it with vanilla ice cream and it still tasted good, although certain family members didn't like it, because it wasn't sweet enough. I'm not sure I would make it again, but thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Fantastic dessert. I added more oats for my Hubby, and he gobbled it up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly Krocker
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
This was good but I can definately see why most rhubarb recipes call for a lot of sugar. Rhubarb has a distinct tart flavor but I enjoyed it. Something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States