Low Sugar Strawberry Rhubarb Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
This recipe turned out pretty well. The flavor was great, thus the 5 stars. I did make a few changes, I added a 1/2 teaspoon of lemon juice and 1 tablespoon of cornstarch to the fruit mixture. Even after letting it sit for 15 minutes after coming out of the oven the filling was still kind of liquidy so I think next time I will use 2 tablespoons cornstarch. For the topping I used 1/4 cup brown sugar splenda blend. I also think that a few more minutes of baking time would have been better to ensure that the rhubarb was tender. But I'm definitely keeping this recipe. It's absolutely delicious. I had to convince my husband to not eat it all in one sitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar City, Utah, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Excellent recipe! I have made it with strawberries and rhubarb, and also as strawberries and apples. I did not add honey to the fruit mixture - but I did microwave the fruit for about 8-10 minutes - to soften it a bit - otherwise I have found that the rhubarb or the apples have stayed too firm but I couldn't leave it in the oven any longer for fear it might burn. I use canola oil instead of the margering in the crunch topping. Usually I use 1/2 oil and 1/2 applesauce to reduce the fat in the crunch and it does not come out soggy. I also make 4x the topping and spread 1/2 on the bottom of my ceramic dish, fill the middle with the fruit and then sprinkle the top with the rest of the topping. This dish is great served warm or even at room temprature! It freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
This was really great, especially for a healthier version of crisp. I did use an extra tbsp or so of honey because the person I was making it for doesn't like rhubarb desserts to be too tart. I was glad I did, otherwise it may have been too tart even for me. I added 2 tbsp of cornstarch after reading the previous reviews and it was perfect - not too runny in the least. For the topping I used 1/8 cup butter and 1/8 cup light margarine and it turned out really well. Delicious with vanilla ice cream!! I'll make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
This was delicious. I made a couple of changes adding 2 Tbs cornstarch for thickning and 2 Tbs Splenda in place of honey for filling. I also replaced brown sugar with Splenda brown sugar mix. I am on Weight Watchers and this was equivelent to 4 points at 8 servings. Add a little low fat topping or ice cream and you will have a dessert that everyone will rave about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
Very easy and quick. Good recipe. I didn't have any fresh strawberries so I used frozen in tub (with sugar). I still used honey too. But I wished I would have also added 1/4 c sugar. Mine was a little too tart. I did add 2 T cornstarch. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: De Soto, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
Great recipe! All I would add: it really does need something to thicken the juice from the fruit. I added a T. of flour and that still wasn't quite enough. Otherwise, very good summer desert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
It is a little tart even though i added an extra tablespoon of honey. I also added two tablespoons of corn starch. The thickness is just right. Other wise it is just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
What a GREAT way to use Rhubarb and strawberry togeather. The tablespoon of honey was JUST RIGHT. Was a light, sweet-tart desert. Only thing that would of made it better would have been if I had ice cream to go on top. My husband loved it. Anything made with rhubarb, in our book, is good, and this is excelent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
This needed either flour or cornstarch or tapioca to thicken all of the liquid that resulted from cooking the fruit. It tasted great, but consistiency left a little to be desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
added a little more sugar, corn starch, and some lemon juice as well. Very tasty, it was exactly what i wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States