Low Sugar Strawberry Rhubarb Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
What a GREAT way to use Rhubarb and strawberry togeather. The tablespoon of honey was JUST RIGHT. Was a light, sweet-tart desert. Only thing that would of made it better would have been if I had ice cream to go on top. My husband loved it. Anything made with rhubarb, in our book, is good, and this is excelent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
This needed either flour or cornstarch or tapioca to thicken all of the liquid that resulted from cooking the fruit. It tasted great, but consistiency left a little to be desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
Great recipe! All I would add: it really does need something to thicken the juice from the fruit. I added a T. of flour and that still wasn't quite enough. Otherwise, very good summer desert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
This recipe turned out pretty well. The flavor was great, thus the 5 stars. I did make a few changes, I added a 1/2 teaspoon of lemon juice and 1 tablespoon of cornstarch to the fruit mixture. Even after letting it sit for 15 minutes after coming out of the oven the filling was still kind of liquidy so I think next time I will use 2 tablespoons cornstarch. For the topping I used 1/4 cup brown sugar splenda blend. I also think that a few more minutes of baking time would have been better to ensure that the rhubarb was tender. But I'm definitely keeping this recipe. It's absolutely delicious. I had to convince my husband to not eat it all in one sitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar City, Utah, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Jabaay
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
A very good recipe for a low sugar alternative to regular strawberry rhubarb crunch. I added 2 tbsp of flour to the second batch to thicken the texture a bit. The first batch came out runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jabaay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
This was really great, especially for a healthier version of crisp. I did use an extra tbsp or so of honey because the person I was making it for doesn't like rhubarb desserts to be too tart. I was glad I did, otherwise it may have been too tart even for me. I added 2 tbsp of cornstarch after reading the previous reviews and it was perfect - not too runny in the least. For the topping I used 1/8 cup butter and 1/8 cup light margarine and it turned out really well. Delicious with vanilla ice cream!! I'll make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
very good. I didn't measure the honey just squeezed it in with the rhubarb and strawberries. I did add 2 tablespoons of cornstarch as others mentioned, it turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
Very easy and quick. Good recipe. I didn't have any fresh strawberries so I used frozen in tub (with sugar). I still used honey too. But I wished I would have also added 1/4 c sugar. Mine was a little too tart. I did add 2 T cornstarch. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: De Soto, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
I thought this was best cold with a little Cool Whip. I added 2 tblsp cornstarch but it was still pretty liquid after cooking. Instant oatmeal worked OK for the topping. If I make it again I will add a tsp. of Splenda and reduce the cooking time by 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
I made this over the weekend for my husband and brother and we all loved it. My husband prefers sweet to tart, so I added an extra tablespoon of honey for him. I also added toasted slivered almonds -- the extra crunch was really great. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States