Low Sugar Strawberry Rhubarb Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 13, 2008
Very nice recipe. I use maple and brown sugar oatmeal for the topping and it is amazing! I also cut down a bit on the rhubarb and ub the honey by 1/2 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
Loved this recipe! What drew me to it was the 'low sugar' part. I made a few changes - I added 1/4 cup of splenda to sweeten it. Other reviews said that the recipe was a bit tart and I really wanted this first attempt at introducing Rhubarb to the family to succeed. That - and I put a granola/brown sugar topping instead of the rolled oats. Made for a fantastic topping. Thanks for this recipe! We can't wait to buy more rhubarb and make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
added a little more sugar, corn starch, and some lemon juice as well. Very tasty, it was exactly what i wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
Very good - I used cornstarch as suggested and it wasn't runny - scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Armstrong, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
Wonderful tangy taste. However the topping works better with a little flour added. I put in 1/2 cup and spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
I made this over the weekend for my husband and brother and we all loved it. My husband prefers sweet to tart, so I added an extra tablespoon of honey for him. I also added toasted slivered almonds -- the extra crunch was really great. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
I thought this was best cold with a little Cool Whip. I added 2 tblsp cornstarch but it was still pretty liquid after cooking. Instant oatmeal worked OK for the topping. If I make it again I will add a tsp. of Splenda and reduce the cooking time by 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
Very easy and quick. Good recipe. I didn't have any fresh strawberries so I used frozen in tub (with sugar). I still used honey too. But I wished I would have also added 1/4 c sugar. Mine was a little too tart. I did add 2 T cornstarch. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: De Soto, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
very good. I didn't measure the honey just squeezed it in with the rhubarb and strawberries. I did add 2 tablespoons of cornstarch as others mentioned, it turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
This was really great, especially for a healthier version of crisp. I did use an extra tbsp or so of honey because the person I was making it for doesn't like rhubarb desserts to be too tart. I was glad I did, otherwise it may have been too tart even for me. I added 2 tbsp of cornstarch after reading the previous reviews and it was perfect - not too runny in the least. For the topping I used 1/8 cup butter and 1/8 cup light margarine and it turned out really well. Delicious with vanilla ice cream!! I'll make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States