Low Sugar Strawberry Rhubarb Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I love low sugar recipes-esp. with fruit! I used my own frozen rhubarb and strawberries from last season and it was delicious. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
This is an excellent basic recipe as is, or modified to suit for those who like more sugar, butter or whatever you want. It seems to be fool-proof!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaydough

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
We loved it! Realtively healthy and low on sugar. Modification: I did 2 cups chopped rhubarb (that was all I had) and 2 cups of strawberries and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
The crunch was more like oatmeal on top, not very crunch like. I also added a little bit of sugar to the strawberry/rhubarb mix. I might make this again with a different crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Wonderful and whips up in no time at all. I wast very, very tart - just the way we like it. Serve with Ice cream. I used 2 Tbsp. agave in place of the honey, added 2 Tbsp. of cornstarch, and used the Splenda brown sugar mix in the topping. Next time I wouldn't change a thing. I will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blvideen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Pine City, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Loved it! I do agree with other reviewers that it does need some cornstarch or tapioca to make it less runny. Although, I didn't add any cornstarch, so we drizzled the extra liquid over vanilla ice cream, which was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I made it as recommended by the others: doubled up on the honey and added the corn flour. This recipe is ridiculously quick to made and ridiculously yummy A definite future regular pud in my house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I increased the honey to 2 Tbl. & added 2 tbl. cornstarch to thicken.Also being diabetic I use splenda brown sugar. My family loves it even without whipped cream or ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
A bit sour for me, so I also added a little extra agave. Another way to reduce the fat content, is to use 1/4 c. real maple syrup(or applesauce) instead of the butter in the crumb topping. It's very easy with a pastry blender. This is the same topping I use for apple crunch, with 1 tsp. added cinnamon to each the apples and the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
excellent recipe.Love the fresh rhubarb flavor not overpowered by sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States