Low Sugar Strawberry Rhubarb Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I love low sugar recipes-esp. with fruit! I used my own frozen rhubarb and strawberries from last season and it was delicious. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
This is an excellent basic recipe as is, or modified to suit for those who like more sugar, butter or whatever you want. It seems to be fool-proof!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaydough

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
We loved it! Realtively healthy and low on sugar. Modification: I did 2 cups chopped rhubarb (that was all I had) and 2 cups of strawberries and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
The crunch was more like oatmeal on top, not very crunch like. I also added a little bit of sugar to the strawberry/rhubarb mix. I might make this again with a different crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Wonderful and whips up in no time at all. I wast very, very tart - just the way we like it. Serve with Ice cream. I used 2 Tbsp. agave in place of the honey, added 2 Tbsp. of cornstarch, and used the Splenda brown sugar mix in the topping. Next time I wouldn't change a thing. I will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blvideen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Pine City, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Loved it! I do agree with other reviewers that it does need some cornstarch or tapioca to make it less runny. Although, I didn't add any cornstarch, so we drizzled the extra liquid over vanilla ice cream, which was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I made it as recommended by the others: doubled up on the honey and added the corn flour. This recipe is ridiculously quick to made and ridiculously yummy A definite future regular pud in my house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I increased the honey to 2 Tbl. & added 2 tbl. cornstarch to thicken.Also being diabetic I use splenda brown sugar. My family loves it even without whipped cream or ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
A bit sour for me, so I also added a little extra agave. Another way to reduce the fat content, is to use 1/4 c. real maple syrup(or applesauce) instead of the butter in the crumb topping. It's very easy with a pastry blender. This is the same topping I use for apple crunch, with 1 tsp. added cinnamon to each the apples and the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
excellent recipe.Love the fresh rhubarb flavor not overpowered by sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States