Low Sugar Strawberry Rhubarb Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Great recipe. Husband is diabetic so I used Splenda in place of the honey (too many carbs) and Splenda Brown Sugar in place of the brown sugar. Did follow others' suggestion, and added 2 tbsps of cornstarch for thickening. I was hoping for a thicker crunch top, so added a bit more Splenda brown sugar and a bit more oatmeal. Should have added more oatmeal, so the topping wasn't quite so thin. Next time I'll use an 8x8 inch pan instead of a 13x9. Other than that, we all loved it! Served it cooled, with sugar free Cool Whip. Hubby, who isn't crazy about rhubarb, raved about it. 8 year old grandson, who loves rhubarb and strawberries, had TWO big helpings! GRRRREAT recipe! I'll definitely use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Delicious. Added more honey and also a dash of lemon juice. I think this will be my new standard crisp recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Thios is really good and I make as written, but double the fruit. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
As is, I don't think my family would have liked this at all. You see, I come from a family of MAJOR sweet tooths...1 tbs of honey in a rhubarb filling was just not going to cut it for them. I upped the amount to 3 tbs, and i thought it was perfect. Because I only had frozen rhubarb and strawberries, my filling was really runny. I added about a tbs. of cornstarch, which helped some. The topping was delicious...I kept snitching it as I cut the butter in :P I was a little disappointed in this, though, because the topping sank into the filling as it baked. This made the filling less runny, but I was hoping the topping would get all crispy and stay on top. Oh, well. I served it with vanilla ice cream and it still tasted good, although certain family members didn't like it, because it wasn't sweet enough. I'm not sure I would make it again, but thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Fantastic dessert. I added more oats for my Hubby, and he gobbled it up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly Krocker
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
This was good but I can definately see why most rhubarb recipes call for a lot of sugar. Rhubarb has a distinct tart flavor but I enjoyed it. Something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
Great base--just had to make some changes due to ingredient issues. Was just making a small dessert for 4 of us and had more berries than rhubarb so I ended up with 1 c. chopped rhubarb and about 3 c. sliced berries. I used Agave Nectar instead of honey but still used the 1 T. suggested. I did do 2 t. of cornstarch and 1 t. lemon juice per others suggestions. For the topping, I just halved everything but I did use Sucanat mixed with the brown sugar (1/2 & 1/2). In case some are looking for ways to incorporate more natural sugars into a dessert---this worked great. My husband & I topped it with vanilla yogurt & loved it. The kids loved it plain. I think I would melt the butter next time. Worth keeping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
A definite keeper with a couple of modifications. I substituted cooking splenda for the honey - 1-2 tablespoons. It came out tart, but not too tart. As others suggested, I used 2 tablespoons of cornstarch and 1/4 cup splenda brown sugar. The topping was a bit skimpy but that may have been because I used the one minute oats. Next time I will may double the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
Great recipe for a healthier strawberry-rhubarb dessert - I could let myself indulge! After reading reviews from some others about the dessert being too tart, I cut the rhubarb to 3 1/2c. and upped the berries to 2 1/2 c to bring out the sweetness of the strawberries a bit more. I also added 1 tsp lime juice and 2 tbsp cornstarch to the berry mix. I used 1/4 c. of applesauce instead of butter in the topping and used Spenda brown sugar in place of the regular brown. My only beef is that there didn't seem to be quite enough topping to cover the whole dish (I used a round pie dish). Next time I'll make 1/2 times more topping and see if that does the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Loved this recipe! Especially loved the topping but I did make a few changes for health reasons. I didn't use the honey (as once you heat honey it's no better for health) so in the recipe I subbed it with 2T. brown sugar (still sugar but a few more nutrients) and a teaspoon of pure stevia extract to sweeten and some cinnamon (1 t.) to help metabolize the sugar I did use and I, too, added cornstarch but I added 3 T. because I can my applesauce in full cup measures and I used 3/4 cup for the topping so I tossed in the last 1/4 with the rhubarb mix. The topping is where I really struck gold. I made twice the recipe so I used 3 cups of rolled oats, 3/4 cup packed brown sugar, 2 t. pure stevia extract, 3/4 cup applesauce and 1 T. cinnamon. I used NO butter at all. It was sticky but when dropped by small pieces onto the strawberry/rhubarb mixture and then sprayed with three coats of natural butter spray and baked, it made a sweet and delightful crumb topping with very low sugar and tons of health. I was thrilled with this topping and will use it for apple and other fruit bakes as well. Thank you so much for this idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Carson, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States