Low Sugar Strawberry Rhubarb Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Fantastic! And so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beema
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This was Very good but I feel it DID need a bit more sweet and will add a wee bit of sugar next time and I added some finely ground pecans to the topping and did as one review suggested~~put on lower shelf to cook a bit longer. Husband and guests loved and with sugar it will be a 5 star....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beema

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Quaker Hill, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Here's my extremely low sugar version: 1) Prepare filling as stated above. 2) Omit the brown sugar from the topping and add more cinnamon to taste. 3) Just before putting everything into the oven, drizzle another tablespoon of honey on top. 4) After baking, sprinkle a little (3 packets) Splenda on top. This brings the sugar total waaay down to 9 grams per serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by summer girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
This is really good! I feel like 5 stars is for a recipe that knocks my socks off. This is nice, though. I didn't look for this recipe b/c I really wanted lower sugar all around. I wanted less sugar mixed in with the fruit (if that makes sense). I used 2 heaping TBS of honey and microwaved it together with the fruit for 5 minutes to be able to disperse evenly. I also sprinkled some flour on the bottom of the pan as well as in the fruit and it thickened up really nicely. Bake on the lowest rack of the oven and you can cook it longer without fear of it burning. I used the crunch recipe from Cherry Crisp on this site. A great crunch. Fruit is slightly tart, but the taste is more natural than when using a lot of sugar. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
This was yummy, and I neglected to use the tips of other reviewers about corn starch and lemon juice. My pan was not quite full...only had half the rhubarb requested, and I added another pint of berries...(mixed berries from frozen section at Costco). Very good with lightly sweetened yogurt topping it warm out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Gave 4 stars because of the changes. I halved the fruit (2 cups rhubarb, 1/2 pint strawberries) and baked in a 9x9 dish. I followed other recommendations and added 1T cornstarch and 1t lemon juice to the fruit mixture. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
This is awesome. My family loved it. My husband said it was kind of like eating sour patch kids because of the tartness. I used 2 Tbsp. of honey and cornstarch. Easy and yummy! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I thought this was really good. I made the recipe as is with no changes. It was a tiny bit tart, but that's to be expected with rhubarb. Mix it with a scoop of vanilla frozen yogurt and it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REDHOTRS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fleetwood, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Very Good. Changed it a bit as I always do, added 8 packets of sweetener along with the honey and 2 tbsp of cornstarch to the strawberries and rhubarb. Also added some slivered almonds to the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by preta75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Super tasty! I took some advice from others and added a bit more honey and cornstarch. I only had 2 cups of rhubarb so I put some more strawberries in. Consistency was great. I also added some apple sauce (1/4cup) to the crunch topping so I could put more oats in. I love the crunch. I didn't add more sugar and it didn't need it. Tasty tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States