Low Sugar Strawberry Rhubarb Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
My neighbor gave me a bunch of rhubarb and I came across this great recipe to help me use it up... I loved that this recipe didn't have gobs of sugar and used honey as a sweetener instead. Perfect for a picnic served with vanilla ice cream. Was a big hit with our guests! Will make again. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBOOKOUT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Blaine, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I agree that most rhubarb recipes add way too much sugar; I thought this recipe had the perfect amount. (Although I used more strawberries and less rhubarb because I didn't have enough rhubarb at home.) I brought it into work and got several compliments on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cbiunno
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Fantastic!!! Just moved to a new house with a ton of rhubarb in the garden and was looking for something to make. Loved how the flavor of the rhubarb wasn't masked by sugar. Will definitely be keeping this for new year:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
This was the best! My husband and I ate practically the whole thing. Just with that it wasn't the end of the rhubarb season. Will try it with frozen and see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Unbelievable flavor. I must say, I made changes, so to be fair I am rating my version, but the base recipe is great. I added 4 Tbsp flour to the fruit mixture, and used 2 Tbsp honey, 3 Splenda packets , and a Tbsp of real sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
I made this last night and it was AMAZING! My family loves strawberry rhubarb pies and crisps but we are try hard to cut back on the sugar we eat. This was perfect! Even my brother, the only one that doesn't like strawberry rhubarb, thought it was "actually pretty good". I did add extra fruit, just because I only had a little left and threw it in and it didn't change things at all. We topped ours with homemade whipped cream. I will be making this again...very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittnee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gooding, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Made this tonight following some of the recommendations from others. I added the corn starch which really helped thicken things up. I also added more honey but to be honest, I wish I just stayed with what the recipe said. I like the somewhat bitter taste of rhubarb. This is very good though. I will definitely be making this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Awesome! Especially enjoyed warm in a mug with a splash of half and half. I added the juice of half a lemon and 2 Tbs cornstarch to the fruit based on the other comments. To my taste, no additional honey is needed since the topping is sweet. I really had to stop myself from eating the whole thing in a sitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
This was awesome. I got some stalks of rhubarb in my organic produce basket this week. I'd never made anything with rhubarb before and didn't want anything with too much sugar. This was perfect. I only had 3 cups of rhubarb, so I made up the difference with more strawberries. Even so, this was about at the tartness limit for my family, so I will probably do it this way from now on. This is a great, healthy dessert that I plan to make a lot. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Mmmmm this was delicious! I used 3 cups of rhubarb, 1/2 pint of strawberries, and as other reviewers suggested, an extra tbsp of honey as well as 2 tbsp of corn starch. For the topping I only used 1/2 cup of oats and added 3/4 cup of all-purpose flour. Overall, a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States