Low Sugar Strawberry Rhubarb Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Very good! I took some other reviewers suggestions and added an additional TBSP of sugar to the fruit as well as 2 TBSPs of cornstarch. It turned out really well - I love how you can taste the great flavor of the rhubarb since it is not too sweet. I'll definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
I used rhubarb only (no strawberries - I just can't get behind strawberry-rhubarb, when rhubarb is so wonderful all by itself!). Instead of butter, I took another reviewers suggestion and used oil (safflower, in my case). For as "healthy" as this ended up being, it was MIGHTY tasty. Will definitely add to my recipe box and make again. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Quite good. I did add 2 Tbsp cornstarch and 2 total Tbsp of honey, as one reviewer mentioned. Turned out great and definitely not too sweet. Other recipes called for 2 cups of sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I don't know that mine was all that low-sugar but it was RIDICULOUSLY good! I only had 2 cups of rhubarb and I feel like it would have been better with the whole four cups. I used 2 Tablespoons of honey and 1 Tablespoon of cornstarch. SO GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Yum! Followed recipe pretty close. Like others, added 2 tablespoons of corn starch to the mix and added 1 more tablespoon of honey. Also added 1 tsp of lemon juice. Lots less sugar than a regular type rhubarb crunch. Easy recipe with ingredients typically on hand. Will be making again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Solid. Made it with the cornstarch as so many had suggested and a bit more honey as well. Looks great, tastes great. Huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndyW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
super good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I cut the recipe to 2 servings (1 cup frozen rhubarb and a handful of frozen strawberries), and baked them in individual custard dishes. I did microwave the fruit for 2 minutes beforehand, which was TOO LONG as the final product was a bit mushy. I didn't use cornstarch; I stuck with the original ingredients. Once assembled, I baked the cups for 30 minutes which didn't overbake the crumble topping (the topping saved the dish from being inedible!). DH and I both like the flavor -- not too sweet! I'm going to try it again with a shorter precook time; I'm giving it 5 stars as the flavor was wonderful, the topping was perfect and the consistency was my own fault. Use the honey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Delicious! I added a half cup of ground flax meal to the crisp topping for added health benefit ^^ I personally like the more liquid consistency so it's all about preference in terms of whether or not you add the cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
This was one of the only things my husband wanted to eat while he was having chemotherapy. He would eat the entire thing in one sitting! I also added a little bit of flour or corn starch to the berries to keep the mixture from getting to soupy, and used agave to sweeten the berries instead of honey. This is also really good with some freshly ground nutmeg added to the berry/rhubarb mix and a little salt added to the topping. All said, simple to make after a day at the hospital and delicious enough to tempt a leukemia patient with no appetite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States