Low Sugar Strawberry Rhubarb Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I doubled this recipe and added a cup of blackberries, one Tablespoon of tapioca for thickening, and a half cup of raw sugar. What a great dessert to serve to family at the end of Summer tomorrow!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Margaret Warren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emmett, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I added 2 TBS cornstarch. Serve with yogurt or whipped cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I made this last night with farmer's market rhubarb. I substituted jarred Trader Joe's peaches for the second fruit as my options were limited. It was great and was eaten by 3 people completely that night. I did add the cornstarch as recommended and used 1/2 butter, 1/2 canola oil. Thanks for the great, healthy recipe. A fabulous way to enjoy summer fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Awesome recipe!! So yummy for having very little sugar. I did however make some changes. I used 2 tbsp honey and microwaved the rhubarb with the honey for 4 min and then mixed in the strawberries. I also added 2 tbsp cornstarch to fruit mixture. I doubled the topping portion of the recipe except for the brown sugar. I still only used 1/2 cup for the whole thing. Also instead of butter I used applesauce and only cooked for 30 instead of 40 min. Must try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
it is good but yes you need to mix with the rubarb and strawberries a tablespoon of flour there is too much liquid otherwise family liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
I made this and thought it was very good. I added the 2 Tbl of cornstarch per other's posts. I used blue agave instead of the honey. Are the carbs in the nutrition section based on unsweetened strawberries or sweetened? The ingredient list doesn't specify but I would think if we are looking at a low sugar recipe that they would use unsweetened strawberries, however the carb count seems high to me and thought maybe it included sweetened strawberries. Can anyone clarify this? I will definetly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
This needed more honey. I doubled the honey to two plus tablespoons and still found it was too tart, bearing in mind that I normally cut the sugar in recipes to half what is recommended. I also added two tablespoons of cornstarch to the strawberry rhubarb mixture to thicken it as suggested by others which did the trick. After tasting it, I served it with a squirt of whipped cream, which added back the extra sweetness that it needed. Having said all this, though, I will make this again but with the above additions since it was really easy and my hubby seemed to like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
This recipe wasn't bad, but the primary reason it tasted good it at all was because it's hard to go wrong with strawberries and rhubarb. I did increase the honey to 3 Tbsp per other reviews and it was still very tart (I still liked it, because I don't mind tart, but it was even more tart than I am used to!). I included a tablespoon of cornstarch but it was still very runny (we called it Rhubarb Soup) and the topping was very scant - doubling it would have been a good call, but I was low on oats. As it was, it wasn't very crunchy, either, more soggy. Probably won't be making this one again as I have many other strawberry-rhubarb recipes I much prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Tried it exactly as written to the letter; was way too runny and soupy; next time will definitely add at least the 2 tblsp of corn starch to thicken and probably double the topping, but sweetness was just write and the taste was yummy....just too much liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I will make again. Added 2tbsp cornstarch as suggested it is tart but yummy. I will add chopped almonds next time to the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcake Divas

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States