Low Sugar Oatmeal Raisin Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
I took a reviewer's suggestion to use one cup of Splenda instead of the packets - no aftertaste at all. Guilt free and healthy! Quick and easy to perpare, but as she says, don't over bake them. My diabetic sweet-loving old dad and I say thanks. He just finished a batch and asked me to make more and double the batch. He LOVES them, and he's not easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2002
This is a terrific tasting oatmeal cookie. You wouldn't know it was low sugar. (I used equal sweetener). I am a home health provider, one of my clients and also my husband are diabetics. I enjoy making special treats for them. Thank you so much !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
Be careful measuring Splenda! It's lighter than sugar. Some may be misusing the Usage Guide on a box of bulk Splenda. It states 50 g SUGAR = 4 T Splenda. They then believe 50 g SPLENDA = 4 T; so 10 g (this recipe) = less than 1 T. WRONG! I've got to agree a full cup of Splenda is overkill - 1/2 c is plenty! A good, light cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2004
Really good - especially for a healthy cookie. I used whole wheat flour instead and only added 1/2 cup of sweetener (splenda). Can't imagine using a whole cup - really not necessary. Couldn't be bothered to chop the raisins - made for a quicker prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2001
quite yummy! ..I tried mine with Splenda as the sweetner though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I made these twice in two days to make sure these were really that good - and they are! I used whole wheat pastry flour since it adds more fluffiness. I also used part splenda brown sugar and part regular brown sugar - did not add the packets and this was sufficiently sweet. I used low fat margarine but next time i will try half marg and half applesauce. i also used mini-choc chips instead of raisins. will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This recipe is close to a cookie that I make that my pals have dubbed the "hippie cookie" due to its healthy-ish ingredients. I was gladl to find a similar recipe to sample, but my hands unknowingly grabbed at my usual additions, hence the following changes/subs. (WW flour, 1/4 c. applesauce to 1/4 margarine, 1/3 c. brown sugar, 1/2 c. Splenda, 1/4 c. wheat germ, and chopped walnuts.) Definitely not the most attractive cookie-cookie, but oh so good out of the oven and difficult to spot that it's a better-for-you version. Husband came home, snatched one up, then another, then another, til I squawked "hey dude, it's almost dinnertime!", to which our toddler remarked, "save cookie for me daaaaaddddy!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
Made them tonight.....substituted 1 c. Splenda for the 5 pkts of artificial sweetner. They are light and flavorful. This is a keeper/am going to try to adapt to a chocolate chip recipe soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Simple and Great tasting! The only change I made was that I used 1/2 cup "Splenda" instead of 5 packets.Also only had golden raisins handy.I found that the time for baking was perfect.Since you need to cut time when using a artificial sweetner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2009
Wonderful! My husband tasted them and requested another batch to take to work. That night I got e-mails from people he works with requesting the recipe! I have to admit that I did make changes. All I had was wheat flour and butter. I used Splenda so I added 1/2 cup of unsweetened applesauce to keep it from being crumbly (couldn't taste the applesauce). Also neither myself or my husband likes raisins so I used dried blueberries (unchopped). I know it sounds like I completly changed the recipe, but I can imagine that it would have been just as good had I followed it perfectly. Thank you Judy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States