Low Sugar / No Sugar Strawberry Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
so easy and great strawberry taste. I have never made jam before as I thought you needed way more berries. Not so! I will definately make this again An added note I did add the lemon juice, 2not 3 teasp per 2 half pint batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Toner Kintzle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I used honey and apple juice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waynesboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
yum! thought it was going to be syrup but it thickened right up a few hours after the canning process was done
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I subtracted one teaspoon of water and added a teaspoon of pure vanilla extract. I made no other changes or substitutions. This turned out absolutely perfect. I've been wanting to try low sugar jam for a while now (because my family eats an obscene amount of jam) and you know, it was just as good. My oldest child said that he preferred it "less sweet".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I used this recipe for making 12 8oz jars of Strawberry jam and it turned out perfect! It was my first time making jam ever and I also never did canning before. I used honey and apple juice as well. I multiplied this recipe x8 and it called for 3 cups of sugar or sugar substitute. With a regular jam recipe it calls for 7 or 8 cups of sugar. So not sure if I could call this recipe low sugar but at least you can use honey instead of granulated sugar so it's still so much better. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Perfect amount of sweetness. Have also used this for peaches, cherries, and blueberries, and I always add cinnamon and/or nutmeg, ginger. Can add in some finally chopped mint too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
First jam I made and it was simple and SO good. Plenty sweet so can't imagine how sweet the regular jams are. Can't wait to make more!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I tried this recipe for the first time today and it turned out perfectly! The level of sweetness was just right, and since low-sugar pectin is used the huge amount of sugar one normally uses in making jam isn't needed for preservation. (I used water instead of fruit juice and the 1/2 cup sugar). As one other reviewer mentioned, the consistency inside the processed jars seemed to be more like thin syrup at first, but about three to four hours after pulling them out of the water bath they had thickened up to a perfect consistency. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
I am making this recipe for the second time, as my family and I, as well as my co-workers, absolutely love it as is. This will be added to my recipe collection as a keeper. It is so simple and easy to make. You could never tell that it is a low sugar recipe. I'll continue to make this recipe for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I followed it exactly, and only after my jam was runny and didn't set did I realize the recipe does not include an important step.T You add "and heat to a boil." to step #2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Jams & Jellies the Easy Way

See how to make fresh jams and jellies from scratch—in just 30 minutes!

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States