Low 'N Slow Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Excellent recipe! Added more barley and some stew meat ~ my boys like meat! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This was really good! Next time I'll add more barley because we thought it could use more. Besides adding more barley, I wouldn't change anything else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
We all loved this, the only changes that I made were using 14 Oz. Of crushed tomatoes instead of tomatoes paste, beef Better than Broth bullion instead of canned and doubled the barley. Delicious, hearty and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
This is a solid recipe, but it could use a little improvement. Most notably, you would think that this would be a pretty hearty soup...but there's a really high broth-to-other-stuff ratio. I doubled the barley, and I'm definitely sure I could've quadrupled it with the amount of broth I had in there. Alternately, since the recipe called for beef broth (and it isn't necessarily a vegetarian dish), I'm guessing I could've thrown maybe 1 to 1.5 pounds of stew meat in there to give it more body. Then again, I guess it'd be more of a "stew" then. Regardless, the taste is there, and it definitely did the trick on a cold Fall day. I'd definitely recommend this recipe as something that is good, different, and relatively easy to concoct.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
We loved this. I had to add chicken because my family doesn't think it's a meal w/o meat & I happened to have some cooked chicken. I also couldn't find my barley so I made some Japanese Black Rice in the oven and added it toward the end of the soup time. Turned out fantastic, flavorful and filling! Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I loved this soup. Added a few beef marrow bones and some fresh rosemary. Used sliced baby bella and shiitake mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Very good. I used a small can of diced tomatoes and 1 quart of beef broth for the liquid. Doubled the amount of garlic and added hot pepper flakes. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Saw this featured on the allrecipes homepage and made it... it was a tasty basic winter soup. I used white mushrooms and portobellos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Great recipe! Substitute canned tomatoes for the tomato paste if you want. Very filling. Serve as the main course on a cold winter night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
This was good. I added more barley. It would have benefitted from the addition of beef stew meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Criscelda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States