Low Fat Buttermilk Ranch Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
I wasn't a salad eater til I tried this recipe. I LOVE this. I was trying to imitate a local restaurant's recipe and this is VERY close! I now crave salad with this dressing-AND I do weight watchers and as I calculated a 2 Tablespoon serving is 1 pt. I used Dried herbs instead of the fresh and it was still wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This is really good. I added just a little basil. Way better than my regular recipe. And, it makes a lot, too! Use fresh spices. You'll be amazed at the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Awesome ranch dressing! I used it to dip buffalo wings into so I cut the recipe in half and since I needed it to be a bit thicker I used 2/3 cup of buttermilk. I also used minced garlic instead of garlic powder. This was perfect and I'll definitely use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This is an just an excellent dressing. Change it up if you like to suit your tastes, but in my view it's simply perfect just as written. I did use low-fat buttermilk and mayonnaise, but full fat sour cream. Used fresh parsley and fresh chives, but dried dill. I used this for a basic, tossed salad. Hubs and I thoroughly enjoyed this dressing and it takes a lot to please me, since I grew up strictly adhering to and preferring a simple vinegar and oil dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Great! I wanted to use this as a dip for buffalo chicken wings. To make it a little thicker I reduced buttermilk to 1 cup and kept the other measurements the same. I used 1 tsp. dry dill and it worked great. Increased chives and parsley to 1 tbsp. each. Added a squeeze of fresh lemon juice. Perfect! You cannot tell this is a reduced fat dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I had some leftover buttermilk, so searched allrecipes for "something" to make with it. My kids and I are salad lovers, so found this and thought, why not? I did add one additional ingredient; about 1/4 tsp. of granulated chicken bouillon. WOW! It added that one little something the dressing was lacking!! So glad I made this because I don't think I will ever buy salad dressing again!Thanks for another hit allrecipes :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stuart, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
Good and tangy taste, but very thin. I thought there was too much buttermilk in this recipe and the buttermilk taste overpowered this dressing. I had to add 1/2 teaspoon of white sugar. This dressing would do nicely on a salad, but would not use it to dip veggies in. I let this sit in fridge overnight before using to enhance flavors. Next time I will use less buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Excellent recipe! I make it exactly as stated; although, I have substituted dried dill and parsley for the fresh and it still tastes great! You will have to reduce the amount of dried herbs though. Even my teenage son loves this dressing and prefers it to the higher fat store bought dressings. For those on weight watchers, only 1 point per serving and this tastes SO much better than store bought low fat ranch dressings. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This is a great base for all kinds of dressings you can change it by adding blue cheese, parm cheese, horse radish, dill pickle cubes the list is endless. Thanks for a great base dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This is awesome! Its the closest to store bought ranch dressing. I did cut the buttermilk down to 1 cup after reading a review and I too have to agree that I like it better with just 1 cup of buttermilk. Will most definately use this recipe for all my future ranch dressing needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

How to Make Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make creamy homemade blue cheese dressing.

Ranch Dressing II

This dressing is tangy with flavors of herbs. Mmm!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States