Low Fat Buttermilk Ranch Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
OK, I admit it, I always use a packet of dry mix to make ranch dressing. Well, never again. I was looking for a recipe to use my left over buttermilk and I gave this a try. It is very easy and SO much better than a mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Wonderful. Gets better the longer it sits. Fresh Dill is a must however; I don't bother with the parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Tybee Island, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: May 25, 2013
This dressing doesn't taste like diet dressing! Love what the fresh herbs do to the flavor. It even tastes great without the sour cream--which I forgot. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Love!!! Everyone was impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Shade, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Good as a base recipe. I ended up adding more garlic and onion powder. I also used about a tablespoon each of the fresh chives and parsley. I didn't have fresh dill, so I used 1 teaspoon of dried. It was pretty good, but I think next time I'll use less parsley and more chives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarisaH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I thought this was just ok, I think there may have been too much onion and or garlic powder. Next time I will just use the fresh stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Jensen
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I used full fat buttermilk and sour cream with low-fat mayo because that's what I had on hand. I was also missing the chives. I liked the flavor and consistency. Definitely follow the directions and let it refrigerate for a while afterward. I served mine too soon, but it was so good the next day after all the flavors had blended! Also, it makes quite a lot. We have a small family, so I might halve the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erin
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Love this dressing - it will be replacing the bottled stuff I normally buy! So easy to put together and it is delicious! The only things I did differently were to omit the chives since I never have them on hand, and I used dried dill and dried parsley (just use 1/3 of the amount called for though, dried spices are more potent). I thought the consistency of this dressing was perfect, even if you're using it for a dip... but if you want something a little thicker (or thinner), then I recommend mixing up the sour cream, mayo & spices first and THEN adding buttermilk until it reaches the consistency you're looking for. Great recipe - thanks! UPDATE 2/14/14: I make this recipe WEEKLY... I don't even remember what the bottled stuff used to taste like and I wouldn't have it any other way. I now mix up all of the dried spices (multiplied) and store them in a mason jar in my cupboard. When I go to make dressing, I just measure out the needed amount and mix with the mayo and sour cream. I also never have buttermilk on hand anymore, so I just use lemon juice and milk instead. Use 1 Tablespoon of lemon juice for every cup of milk you use and you won't miss the buttermilk at all! My husband doesn't even like ranch dressing, but he loves this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
We love this without mayo and pepper, also just 1 cup of both sour cream and buttermilk. Consider trying fresh minced garlic instead of powder. You can also make your own buttermilk with starter culture ordered online. Buttermilk is so much better when you can make it to YOUR taste preference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I have been searching for a restaurant quality low-fat version of ranch dressing for a long time and have finally found it, here it is!! This is a must try, I used dry dill and parsley so I only used 1 tsp each. I did not use chives but would like to next time. Enjoy :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gizmo5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

How to Make Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make creamy homemade blue cheese dressing.

Ranch Dressing II

This dressing is tangy with flavors of herbs. Mmm!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States