Low Fat Buttermilk Ranch Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I used a very simplified version of this recipe - just the buttermilk and mayonnaise as a base, then added fresh pesto I had made. It was wonderful! A little on the thick side for salad dressing, so I may thin it down with more buttermilk. Even before I added the pesto, it had a great basic buttermilk ranch taste. I would definitely try it again with the seasonings indicated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This is a tasty low-cal version--I might reduce the salt a little next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Awesome! This has a nice fresh flavor. I forgot to buy dill so I just added extra chives and parsley to make up for it. Wouldn't change a thing! About a million times better than the whipped oil and corn syrup concoctions calling themselves ranch at the grocery store. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This is an excellent salad dressing recipe. My husband really enjoyed it and its consistency is great for dipping. I followed the recipe as is and will be using it again but will add my tastefully simple bacon bacon and garlic garlic in place of the garlic and onion powders for my version of bacon ranch dressing. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ayeshatb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Came out pretty thin, which is how I like my dressing, but not very good for diping. I think it tastes too much like dill (which will make it great for a cucumber salad), overall I'll make it again btu will adjust the ingredients to get a more balanced flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This is excellant and I am happy that I have a "go-to" "better-for-you" ranch dressing. Made this dressing using all dried ingredients (because that is what I had) and reduced the buttermilk to 2/3 c. for a thicker dressing then left it chill till dinner was served. It is creamy and delicious and I enjoyed the dairy fresh taste. I compared it with my favorite bottled dressing and tossed the bottle which now taste funny to me after having this - no more bottled dressing for me. I'm not a big fan of lower fat mayo but to keep this dressing lower fat I used it with no regrets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I made this dressing for dinner one night and it was good, but then the remainder set in the fridge for 2 days and then I had some on a lunch salad and it was amazing!!! My only change was to use all dried herbs and half the dill. Although it was very liquidy after 2 days it was still really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I had to use dried dill (at 1/2 teaspoon) but followed the recipe exactly for the rest. Unlike other reviewers, I needed to add a bit more lowfat buttermilk (about 1/4 cup) to reach the consistency we like. It was excellent after making and I'm sure will be even better tonight/tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
By far the best I've had. (I used Hellmann's Cholesterol Free Mayo, doesn't have that "sweet flavor " like low fat miracle whip). A definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Very good, tastes better the second day. I add a pinch of smokey paprika for depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

How to Make Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make creamy homemade blue cheese dressing.

Ranch Dressing II

This dressing is tangy with flavors of herbs. Mmm!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States