Low Fat Buttermilk Ranch Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I thought this was just ok, I think there may have been too much onion and or garlic powder. Next time I will just use the fresh stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Jensen
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I used full fat buttermilk and sour cream with low-fat mayo because that's what I had on hand. I was also missing the chives. I liked the flavor and consistency. Definitely follow the directions and let it refrigerate for a while afterward. I served mine too soon, but it was so good the next day after all the flavors had blended! Also, it makes quite a lot. We have a small family, so I might halve the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erin
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Love this dressing - it will be replacing the bottled stuff I normally buy! So easy to put together and it is delicious! The only things I did differently were to omit the chives since I never have them on hand, and I used dried dill and dried parsley (just use 1/3 of the amount called for though, dried spices are more potent). I thought the consistency of this dressing was perfect, even if you're using it for a dip... but if you want something a little thicker (or thinner), then I recommend mixing up the sour cream, mayo & spices first and THEN adding buttermilk until it reaches the consistency you're looking for. Great recipe - thanks! UPDATE 2/14/14: I make this recipe WEEKLY... I don't even remember what the bottled stuff used to taste like and I wouldn't have it any other way. I now mix up all of the dried spices (multiplied) and store them in a mason jar in my cupboard. When I go to make dressing, I just measure out the needed amount and mix with the mayo and sour cream. I also never have buttermilk on hand anymore, so I just use lemon juice and milk instead. Use 1 Tablespoon of lemon juice for every cup of milk you use and you won't miss the buttermilk at all! My husband doesn't even like ranch dressing, but he loves this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
We love this without mayo and pepper, also just 1 cup of both sour cream and buttermilk. Consider trying fresh minced garlic instead of powder. You can also make your own buttermilk with starter culture ordered online. Buttermilk is so much better when you can make it to YOUR taste preference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I have been searching for a restaurant quality low-fat version of ranch dressing for a long time and have finally found it, here it is!! This is a must try, I used dry dill and parsley so I only used 1 tsp each. I did not use chives but would like to next time. Enjoy :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gizmo5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
So delicous!! And easy. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
This was a good dressing, but I am not giving it five stars because I was looking for one that really tasted like ranch, and this one didn't. I did not do anything low-fat, and it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Full of flavor! The more it sits in the fridge, the more flavor it has. I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Delicious! I followed the recipe exactly as written except for the fresh chives because I had none. This is a thin dressing, but I didn't find that to interfere with the integrity of the salad at all. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SundayGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
I used plain yogurt in place of the buttermilk and sour cream. This dressing tasted really good by itself, but it had almost no flavor when I put it on my salad. I'm not sure what I could do to improve it, but it's OK as is. My kids really liked it, but they haven't had ranch dressing in a while because I stopped buying bottled dressings. I think maybe if I just cut down on the "liquid" ingredients I'd like it better. My husband would have liked it thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

How to Make Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make creamy homemade blue cheese dressing.

Ranch Dressing II

This dressing is tangy with flavors of herbs. Mmm!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States