Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Delicious muffins, can't believe that they are low-fat and healthy! I will be making these often! I took the advice of some other reviews and added 1/2 of a smashed-up ripe banana and a tsp of honey for sweetness,and used all whole wheat flour instead of 1/2 wheat, 1/2 white. They turned out great! Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
These muffins were absolutely delicious! I've been looking for a low-fat, high fiber muffin recipe, and this is it. I had to make a couple of substitutions, but I'm sure these would have been equally delicious as written. I couldn't find wheat bran so I used 1 1/2 cups of oat bran. And I substituted 1 cup almond milk (original, 60 calories per cup) for the nonfat milk. Everything else was as written. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Porte, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
I absolutely loved these muffins! I followed the suggestions of some other reviewers and used 1 1/2 tsp baking powder and 1 1/2 tsp baking soda. Also I didn't have any wheat bran so I used all bran instead, and pulsed it a few times in a magic bullet (you could alternatively use a food processor) to turn it into a powder. I only used 1/2 cup brown sugar (not packed) but found it a bit too sweet for my liking so I'll probably reduce this the next time I make these - yes I will be making them again! I think the reason for the over sweetness was the sugar that the all bran cereal added to the muffins. I love gooey blueberries in my muffins so I added an extra 1/2 cup of blueberries, and might even used 2 cups total next time. I checked the muffins after 18 minutes and they seemed done from the outside but on the inside they were not fully cooked so I kept them for a total of 20 minutes. Also I made the mistake of making these at 11:30 at night so I regrettably couldn't gobble down half the batch fresh from the oven. But they tasted wonderful the next day as well. Overall a wonderful recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I never seem to have much luck with baking, so I was quite pleased that these turned out perfectly on my first try. They were much tastier than I had been expecting for a low-fat recipe. I'll definitely be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mound, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chaska, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
I just made these muffins and they are wonderful! I have to lower my cholesterol and my husband has diverticulitis, so it's hard to find yummy muffins that are healthy, too. I'm making these again nest week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I made these today and they are/were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Doesn't taste like low fat at all! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I did not have any bran so I replaced it using oatmeal. This recipe is so good and only 1.5 g of fat per. Soak oatmeal just like the bran. Mix the eg and sugar mixture into the oatmeal when it is ready Let it sit while you sift flour so flavors come out. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I made these with the intention of giving them as a gift to be frozen and ended up eating three before I even took them out of the tin to cool. So good! I ended up using 3/4 cup oat bran in place of the 1 1/2 cups wheat bran because that's all my grocery store had stocked at 6am. Still came out wonderful. Please try these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicolio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Yes, this is a really GREAT recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilson, North Carolina, USA
Living In: North Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 747) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States