Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
These are great. For those who are interested, I calculated the calorie count: 1 muffin = 100 calories, 0.7 g fat, 23.1 g carbs, 4.2 g fiber, 3.6 g protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1715 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
Great recipe- great muffins! I modified mine a little- instead of the applesauce, I used 1 large mashed banana, and instead of the brown sugar, I used 1/4 cup honey. Also, I used 1 cup w.w. flour and no white flour. They turned out great, not too sweet but definitely sweet enough. I also calculated a nutrition fact chart for my version.. Calories: 86 per muffin Fat: .9 gram Carbohydrates: 19 grams Fiber: 4.9 grams Protein: 4 grams
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1379 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
With a few minor adjustments these muffins can really be five stars! I made two batches to compare and here are a few suggestions: use wheat bran, all bran doesnt give it the same consistency or flavor, add a little bit of cinnamon, add a little baking powder NOT baking soda (and make sure to sift both), beating the egg whites before adding them in gives the muffins a little extra lightness that is necessary. Add as many blueberries or fruit of choice that you want, they make them extra delecious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
734 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
I agree with alot of the others comments. These are my substitutions: All Bran cereal for wheat bran 1/2 cup brown sugar for 3/4 cup brown sugar (just depends how sweet you like them, just fine with 1/2 cup) 1 1/4 tsp baking powder for 1 tsp bp 1 1/4 tsp baking soda for 1 tsp bp 1 cup whole wheat flour for 1/2 cup wheat 1/2 cup white. These are keepers will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
237 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This recipe is terrific: almost too good to be true, it tastes moist, sweet, and delicious like a fresh muffin should. With minor changes I sell these muffins in my espresso bar to patrons looking for a slightly healthier treat with their java. Fun alterations I have made include substituting a cup of grated tart apple or pear for the berries, using dried blueberries instead of fresh, and adding cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg. Also if you like nonfat yogurt can stand in for the applesauce. I highly recommend this recipe for a healthy breakfast treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
My 6 year old daughter and I made these this morning. We are really watching our food choices, and that's why we chose this recipe. Everyone loved them. They came right out of greased muffin tins. I wouldn't use paper liners, as these are somewhat sticky. I made only a couple of changes... used all whole wheat flour (HINT: get some wheat gluten from the store. It will help prevent HEAVINESS from the wheat flour and you will not need to increase the baking powder or soda. You can find it either in the baking aisle or the health food aisle. Use about 2 tsp. for this recipe). We added about 1/2 cup of finely grated carrot for fiber and sweetness, upped the vanilla to 1 tsp., and added about 1/4 cup of Splenda just in case the frozen blueberries (use them frozen) weren't at the peak of sweetness. Oh yeah, we used All-Bran cereal soaked in the milk instead of wheat bran. Anyway.... try these- they are wonderful. Would definitely make them again. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycamper26

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
A very good and very healthy muffin recipe. As other reviewers did, I substituted oat bran for wheat bran. I also added 1/4 cup ground flaxseed, doubled the amount of blueberries, added a teaspoon of cinnamon, and used Egg Beaters instead of the egg. I kept the 1/2 cup of white flour (instead of subbing wheat flour to make it even healthier), and I'm glad I did, because it helped keep the muffins a little bit fluffier/less dense, while only detracting a small bit from the overall nutrition of the muffins. A definite winner -- yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIEMONSTER803

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
I couldn't be more pleased with the way this recipe turned out. This muffins did not taste low-fat at all. Instead of using just blueberries, I used frozed berry medly that comes in a bag (blueberrries, respberries, blackberries, and strawberries.) I had to cut up the berries a little, but it worked great. Had kind of a cobbler taste to it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
Wow, these muffins were great. I'm always looking for low-fat, high-fibre snacks and these are perfect. Moist and just the right amount of sweetness!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
I made these the other night and was so impressed! They were even better than regular muffins! I used 1 cup of whole wheat instead of half of white and half of whole wheat, egg substitute (about 50ml), and 1 cup of frozen cranberries. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 746) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States