Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
Wow, these muffins were great. I'm always looking for low-fat, high-fibre snacks and these are perfect. Moist and just the right amount of sweetness!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
These are really good. I put in cranberries instead, they bake up nicely, aren't too heavy.. very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
I thought these were a little dry. I would have to try some changes to the recipe before I made these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
I couldn't be more pleased with the way this recipe turned out. This muffins did not taste low-fat at all. Instead of using just blueberries, I used frozed berry medly that comes in a bag (blueberrries, respberries, blackberries, and strawberries.) I had to cut up the berries a little, but it worked great. Had kind of a cobbler taste to it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
The muffins were very moist , but hardley any taste. So we added icing on top. Great. Will make again, next time using sweetend applesauce, or adding something for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Trenton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
The most difficult part of this recipe was locating the wheat bran in my grocery store. The muffins turned out excellent. Moist and dense. I will make sure my blueberries are firm next time as these berries were just a bit soft. I suppose compared to a highly processed muffin these may not seem sweet, but I thought they had just the perfect sweetness level. Blueberries are such a power food, and when combined with the fiber of this recipe....Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
I made this into a loaf and it was great for a low fat recipe. I made a few modifications based on what I had in the pantry. First I used oat bran instead of wheat bran. I used 3/4 c. of brown sugar and added more than 1/2 c. of milk. I also only had 1/4c of applesauce so I used 2Tbl. of butter and a 1/4c. low fat sour cream. I also used all wheat flour and added an extra 1/2 tsp. of baking powder. This will make a tasty, healthy breakfast!! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
I totally love this recipe! I operate several large community kitchens involving all age groups. I have taken this recipe to each kitchen with phenominal success! The participants love it, but more than that, it is actually good for them! Awesome recipe Hilary. I intend to try your recipe "Quinoa and Black Beans". If you have any more excellent, nutritious recipes like the muffins, I'd love to see them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
These muffins were absolutely delicious! I actually thought they were a little too sweet (and I did use unsweetened applesauce), so I may try reducing the brown sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
This was just what I needed, a high fiber muffin with flavor. I used 100% bran cereal and not sure if this is what wheat bran is but they turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dexter, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 737) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States