Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Luv2cookSC
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I followed the directions as written except...I added more blueberries. I didn't change the ingredients as some reviewers have done. I'm sure this recipe can be "tweaked" to meet everyone's personal taste but I wanted to try them as written (except for the extra blueberries!) before I started making changes. These are DELICIOUS and soooo moist for a bran muffin! I baked these for 18 minutes and they came out perfectly. I also sprayed the muffin tin with cooking spray and they fell right out..just let them cool down for a bit before you try to remove them. Next time I will double the recipe so I have more on hand. I know these will go fast at my house! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2cookSC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I ate these to replace my cereal in the morning.they are good,but too much wheat bran. Makes them heavy. Will try them again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
My kids and I really enjoyed these. Are they really only 123 calories each??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
made it with unsweetened vanilla almond milk instead of skim milk and used splenda brown sugar blend instead of brown sugar. added 2 tsp vital wheat gluten, used all whole wheat flour and used almost a pint of fresh blueberries. it is very healthy low-calorie and moist from the blueberries and applesauce. only reason that I did not give it a 5 star--in presentation it is not as beautiful as a blueberry muffin made with white flour and no bran.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fuzzylogicricecooker
Living In: Pearl River, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I used vanilla almond milk but that is the only change I made. They are very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
These are very good. I accidentally doubled the amount of applesauce, they were really moist! Not a bad mistake at all. I might do it that way again! I also added cinnamon, really yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I added flaxseed to this recipe and loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
This recipe is amazing! I had a craving for a moist bran muffin but most recipes had way too much oil or butter. I did make a few changes and they worked fine. I switched the amounts of applesauce and milk, using 1 cup of unsweetened applesauce and just 1/2 cup of milk. I also reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup which was still too sweet for me. I will reduce it to 1/4 cup next time. I didn't have blueberries so I just left them out since I had already increased the applesauce. I got 12 nice sized muffins for about 100 calories apiece. I will definitely make this again. These were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rumford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Deliciously good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
I made these with the following changes: Instead of brown sugar, I used 1/3 cup raw honey. I increased the baking powder to 1 1/2 tsp and used 1 cup whole wheat flour and left out the regular flour. I also added a sprinkle of cinnamon and used frozen wild blueberries. They were a little bland. Knowing how healthy they are, I'm OK with eating them and I'm sure I'll make them again, but I'll make other changes. I might increase the honey to 1/2 cup and do the 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 regular flour. I think I'd like them better with more cinnamon, too. I might try 1/2 tsp. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 767) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States