Low-Fat Blue Cheese Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2012
I added Frank's Hot Sauce and added it to shredded chicken to make a low-fat Buffalo chicken dip....my family enjoyed this healthier version
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
I love blue cheese dressing but was a bit put off, at first, by some of the unfavorable reviews. However, I really liked the idea of the base for this dressing, so I decided to experiment (which I usually do anyway). I put 1/2 cup ea of the cottage cheese and yogurt in my mini processor to which I added 1 T rice vinegar, 1 T dried onion flakes, 1-1/2 tsp garlic/rosemary sea salt (instead of fresh garlic), 1 oz crumbled Gorgonzola, and 2 T Parmesan-Romano (note: all measurements are approximate). It set overnight and was absolutely delicious! Now I have a creamy base that I can use to make all kinds of low-fat and fat-free dressings. I can see adding a bit of chili and cilantro for a spicy dressing over taco salad, or adding some balsamic and fresh or dried herbs for a veggie dip. I hate mayonnaise so I always use salad dressing when I make potato/egg/tuna salad and this base will be perfect for that as well. I think it needs a bit of sweetening to counter balance the tartness, hence the rice vinegar, but a bit of honey or balsamic vinegar should also do the trick. I only give it 3 stars because I've made significant changes to the original recipe, but this turns out much better than any store-bought dressing, which contain either too much fat or, if it's low-fat, contain HFCS (except Wishbone, which no longer uses HFCS).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MellowMarsha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I was very dissapointed, this tastes NOTHING like blue cheese. I enjoy healthy alternatives and have an open mind. I agree with the other person who said it has no flavor and is just more of a cream base. I really wanted this to be good. I let it set for 24 hours, I added lemon and worcestershire. It helped a tiny bit, but not enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMLuna310

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Not as good as I had hoped. I LOVE bleucheese and wanted to cut the calories...not a winner. I have found if I make a lowfat ranch with light olive oil mayo and light sour cream with a packet of ranch seasoning then used crumbled bleu cheese on my salad is the best and only way I have found to accomplish cutting the calories while still getting a clean bleu cheese flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
I would say this does not really taste like blue cheese dressing all that much, but, for a very healthy alternative, I felt it was pretty good. To me, it tastes much better than a fat free alternative from the store. My husband and I both ate it 3 days in a row. I let it sit in the fridge one day before eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Gatos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I sometimes sneak a little extra blue cheese in before I blend it... this recipe is spectacular when you leave it in the fridge overnight. The perfect baked potato topper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I liked this - wish I liked it as well as Bob's Blue Cheese Dressing! :( I have a problem with fat free yogurt getting so watery when I use it for dressings - am I just using the wrong yogurt?? Other than that - I would use this all the time because of the fat free thing and the much healthier fact. Can anyone help me on this please?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
My husband couldn't believe this recipe was low-fat. NEITHER COULD I!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flamborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Just made this tonight. It is delicious. Not something I would make on a regular basis becuase even though I am using lowfat cottage cheese and yogurt its still dairy. I personally like the garlicky flavor. I did not find this bland at all even with me cutting the salt out totally. Delicious dressing will definetly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcie Killian Connally

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States