Low-Fat Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I wasn't sure about the mayo in this, but it turned out great! The end result is a moist, delicious banana bread that doesn't have as many calories and fat grams as most recipes but just as much taste. I am definitely keeping this recipe for future use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I have a similar recipe that I tweeked to make it low fat and low sugar. Use 1/2 wheat flour and 1/2 AP flour. Same with sugar = 1/2 splenda 1/2 regular sugar. Instead of mayo (yuk) use low fat sour cream. Add cinnamon and fresh grated nutmeg, to taste. Adds tons of flavor. No one knows that mine is low fat and low sugar. It's that good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I added a teaspoon of baking powder. I made no other changes. I made muffins out of this recipe. I got exactly 12 and I baked them at 350 for just under 20 minutes. The only issue I had with this banana bread came out dry. My bananas weren't big--all three of them were medium sized which could have been the problem. I really couldn't tell that I baked these with mayonnaise and I'll be honest, I was worried about that. I'd like to try this again with another banana and see if that helps but these really were quite dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
This turned out pretty well. I chopped up some almonds and threw them in and also used half brown sugar, half white sugar. It's quite moist but it took a little longer to cook than 45 minutes--more like 55
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I doubled this recipe and it made 3 loaves. Very yummy. I also used half mayo and half apple sauce and it was excellent. Super moist with a nice tang. I added some cinnimon as well, 2 tsp. Have made several times now and my family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goofy_hobbit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
This tastes excellent. I might try cutting back a little on the sugar next time, as it was just a tiny bit on the sweet side for me, but otherwise great. Nice alternative if you don't have butter on hand too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I was a tad leary of the mayo in it but was on the hunt for a recipe I had everything for, and was very low on butter... it was SOOOO yummy, but I needed to increase the baking time to about an hour, and there was still a bit that was gooey.... but hands down... YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bawlf, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Provost, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marie Taylor
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
This banana bread recipe has great flavor. I made one change because of what I had on hand, which was to use 1/2 cup buttermilk instead of the mayo. The banana bread was delicious but I did notice the crust was a little rubbery--possibly because I didn't use mayo? Either way it's worth a little sacrifice in texture for the lower fat. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
This is so completely delicious! My kids like it better than the 'regular' fat-in banana bread that I make. Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
This IS the best, but in using 2 brand new ovens for this recipe (1 electric and 1 gas -- we move every year to a different ski resort), I found that it definitely does need to cook about 10 min. longer -- 55 minutes is perfect. I always make it ahead and freeze in in individual wrappings for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA
Living In: Big Sky, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States