Low-Fat Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Excellent recipe. Couldn't help to tweak this to make it healthier as I am trying to reduce cal and fat where I can. This is a great base recipe and very easy to make. VERY!!! Changes: Flour: 1/2 cup wholemeal flour and 1 cup white. Will try all wholemeal next time. Only had 2 Bananas so added: 61g Brambly Apple Sauce Added 93g Blueberries (had some left over from some muffins and wanted to use them up) Added 2.5 tsp of cinnamon - will add more the next time as I LOVE cinnamon Only used 1/2 cup (110g) of light brown muscovado sugar and no white. I thought it was sweet enough with the added fruit. I love sugar and sweet things but this is a healthier option. When using brown you dont need to use as much sugar. I dusted the greased pan with flour and cinnamon :) Used soured cream instead of mayo as it was expiring soon and wanted to use it up. The smell throughout the house was divine and couldn't help braking a small piece off when it was cooling on the wrack. RECOMMEND RECOMMEND RECOMMEND happy baking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
AMAZING !!!! This recipe is fantastic...I,(like other reviews) wasn't too sure about using mayo or sour cream.... but... I was pleasantly surprised....I made one loaf with mayo and another with fat-free sour cream.. both equally delicious...I also added 1 tsp baking powder...it is a MUST TRY.. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I was very leery of the mayo in this, because I hate mayo, but I didn't have any yogurt or other substitutes, so I gave it a try. My third banana was way too overripe, so I used 2 big ripe bananas and a tad extra mayo. I did sub out a half cup of flour for whole wheat. I put the batter into 3 mini loaf pans, baked for about 35 minutes at 325 degrees and just tried my first slice. Delicious!! I am impressed with how simple this recipe is, and how great the results were. No soggy middle, no dry texture, no mayo flavor, just pure goodness. This may be my new go-to recipe for banana bread. Much simpler than my other healthy version, and it tastes like full fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Oh my! This was a wonderful recipe! I too substituted 1/2 the sugar with Splenda. Don't be afraid of the mayo, you'll never know you're eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I took another reviewer's suggestion and used half light mayo and half applesauce. Also used 4 very ripe medium sized bananas. When making banana things I like to blend them in the blender with the other wet ingredients--I did that here, too. Subbed 1/2 cup bread flour and also added 2 tbl oat bran. Cut sugar down to 3/4 cup and added 1/3 cup chocolate chips on top of the batter when it was in the pan so they wouldn't sink to the bottom. The choc chips make it so sweet I could even cut the sugar down more next time. It took 50 minutes to bake and even then it was very moist and the texture is a little gummy but not that noticeable. However, the flavor is great and my family liked this a lot. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Very Moist-- light Mayo did trick! added Pumpkin spice for favor, less sugar!! Will make again All loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I was a bit nervous when I saw mayo, but this is by far one of the best banana breads I have made and ate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
This IS the best, but in using 2 brand new ovens for this recipe (1 electric and 1 gas -- we move every year to a different ski resort), I found that it definitely does need to cook about 10 min. longer -- 55 minutes is perfect. I always make it ahead and freeze in in individual wrappings for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA
Living In: Big Sky, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
This is so completely delicious! My kids like it better than the 'regular' fat-in banana bread that I make. Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I doubled this recipe and it made 3 loaves. Very yummy. I also used half mayo and half apple sauce and it was excellent. Super moist with a nice tang. I added some cinnimon as well, 2 tsp. Have made several times now and my family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goofy_hobbit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States