Low-Fat Apple Spice Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jennbo
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
These muffins tasted great and were a nice low-calorie treat for the morning. The reason they got four stars is because they came out kind of tough. I will try this recipe again and mix it even less than I did originally. If you make this recipe make sure to only mix the dry/wet ingredients just so!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennbo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
These muffins turned out awsome, they were so moist and fluffy. I would recommend checking on your muffins after 20 minutes cooking time though as this was all the time mine needed in the oven, any longer and they would have been over done. Also be sure to only mix your ingredients until just moistened to avoid your muffins turning out tough. Thank you so much for providing a great healthy recipe for my family :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
We were a little short on all-purpose flour and I used stone ground whole wheat flour and only 1/4 cup of sugar and this still turned out GREAT. My husband and I both loved them, as did the kids. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
These were delicious! I needed to find a healthy-ish breakfast treat for some people at the office, so I gave this one a shot and it was a hit! They came out nice and moist, and the spices really make the flavour unique! I served them with some vanilla cream cheese spread and got rave reviews. I will definitely make them again. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rinny182

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
These muffins are really delicious, and a nice, low cal option for snacking and breakfast. I followed the recipe, except that I reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup and I used just plain, white sugar. I also used all white flour instead of half and half. I think that next time I might try replacing that tablespoon of oil for a tablespoon of applesauce - it's a common baking swap and seeing as these are apple muffins I think that the applesauce would lend nicely to the apple flavor of the muffin. I also only had vanilla yogurt on hand, so I used that - which was another reason that I chose to lessen the amount of sugar used. The chunks of apples in the muffin were a really nice treat! The recipe states that it only makes a dozen muffins, but I got a dozen and a half, so that was nice! This was a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
These were very good and I would defiitely make them again! I used 2 C of whole wheat flour instead of including the all-purpose flour and they turned out great! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I loved these SO MUCH!!! I made them with 2% milk and regular yogurt because that was all I had and that worked just fine. They were great for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChamilliaTCuppe
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
These muffins were tasty, though I made several notable alterations: 1) I only had vanilla non-fat yogurt, so I reduced the sugar to 2/3c. 2) I used all-purpose flour and added 2/3c of oats to the liquid mixture - whole wheat flour would have been desirable but I didn't have any :( 3) I 2 whole apples, which amounted to approximately 1.5c. Next time I might consider adding some baking powder. It is true that they are a bit "gummy" as opposed to crumbly, but I don't find that to be a big turn off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChamilliaTCuppe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I will NOT make them again. Very tough and chewy. Flavors were so mild, I couldn't taste anything but the ginger. I followed the recipe to a T. I mixed the batter minimally, and took them out of the oven after 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States