Low-Fat Apple Spice Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jennbo
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
These muffins tasted great and were a nice low-calorie treat for the morning. The reason they got four stars is because they came out kind of tough. I will try this recipe again and mix it even less than I did originally. If you make this recipe make sure to only mix the dry/wet ingredients just so!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennbo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
We were a little short on all-purpose flour and I used stone ground whole wheat flour and only 1/4 cup of sugar and this still turned out GREAT. My husband and I both loved them, as did the kids. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
These were very good and I would defiitely make them again! I used 2 C of whole wheat flour instead of including the all-purpose flour and they turned out great! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
These were delicious! I needed to find a healthy-ish breakfast treat for some people at the office, so I gave this one a shot and it was a hit! They came out nice and moist, and the spices really make the flavour unique! I served them with some vanilla cream cheese spread and got rave reviews. I will definitely make them again. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rinny182

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
These muffins turned out awsome, they were so moist and fluffy. I would recommend checking on your muffins after 20 minutes cooking time though as this was all the time mine needed in the oven, any longer and they would have been over done. Also be sure to only mix your ingredients until just moistened to avoid your muffins turning out tough. Thank you so much for providing a great healthy recipe for my family :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liz Cavanaugh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
These muffins are really delicious, and a nice, low cal option for snacking and breakfast. I followed the recipe, except that I reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup and I used just plain, white sugar. I also used all white flour instead of half and half. I think that next time I might try replacing that tablespoon of oil for a tablespoon of applesauce - it's a common baking swap and seeing as these are apple muffins I think that the applesauce would lend nicely to the apple flavor of the muffin. I also only had vanilla yogurt on hand, so I used that - which was another reason that I chose to lessen the amount of sugar used. The chunks of apples in the muffin were a really nice treat! The recipe states that it only makes a dozen muffins, but I got a dozen and a half, so that was nice! This was a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
These muffins are fantastic! I added flax seed meal and some chopped dates. My family ate them in a day. Highly recommend them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I loved these SO MUCH!!! I made them with 2% milk and regular yogurt because that was all I had and that worked just fine. They were great for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I enjoyed this very much. The only thing stopping me from giving 5 stars is that I didn't care for the spices much. The rating is for a low fat recipe. Next time I will eliminate the allspice and double the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purple_inferno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States