Low-Fat Apple Spice Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I used dry brown sugar and used a mixture of all purpose, whole wheat, and a tiny bit of flaxmeal because those are what I had on hand. My muffins tasted a bit chewy. I rather my muffins be moist and flaky instead of moist and rubbery. There could have been a bit more spice and sweetness in there as well. Very little depth of flavor and very poor texture. Edible, but not very enjoyable. I would rather make a higher calorie version and eat less of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hodgenville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I used 2 C Whole Wheat Flour, 1 Tbs Applesauce, 1 tsp fresh ginger (finely shredded), 2/3 C Chobani Vanilla Yogurt, 2/3 C 2% Milk, and 1 Lrg Green Apple. I folded the wet ingredients into the dry with a spatula and baked for 20 min. My elevation is 4,500 ft in an arid environment. These turned out wonderfully although next time I think I'll switch out the applesauce for a Tbs of pumpkin. Would love to see how that tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChamilliaTCuppe
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
These muffins were tasty, though I made several notable alterations: 1) I only had vanilla non-fat yogurt, so I reduced the sugar to 2/3c. 2) I used all-purpose flour and added 2/3c of oats to the liquid mixture - whole wheat flour would have been desirable but I didn't have any :( 3) I 2 whole apples, which amounted to approximately 1.5c. Next time I might consider adding some baking powder. It is true that they are a bit "gummy" as opposed to crumbly, but I don't find that to be a big turn off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChamilliaTCuppe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I will NOT make them again. Very tough and chewy. Flavors were so mild, I couldn't taste anything but the ginger. I followed the recipe to a T. I mixed the batter minimally, and took them out of the oven after 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I enjoyed this very much. The only thing stopping me from giving 5 stars is that I didn't care for the spices much. The rating is for a low fat recipe. Next time I will eliminate the allspice and double the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purple_inferno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I loved these SO MUCH!!! I made them with 2% milk and regular yogurt because that was all I had and that worked just fine. They were great for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
These muffins are fantastic! I added flax seed meal and some chopped dates. My family ate them in a day. Highly recommend them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
These muffins are really delicious, and a nice, low cal option for snacking and breakfast. I followed the recipe, except that I reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup and I used just plain, white sugar. I also used all white flour instead of half and half. I think that next time I might try replacing that tablespoon of oil for a tablespoon of applesauce - it's a common baking swap and seeing as these are apple muffins I think that the applesauce would lend nicely to the apple flavor of the muffin. I also only had vanilla yogurt on hand, so I used that - which was another reason that I chose to lessen the amount of sugar used. The chunks of apples in the muffin were a really nice treat! The recipe states that it only makes a dozen muffins, but I got a dozen and a half, so that was nice! This was a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
These muffins turned out awsome, they were so moist and fluffy. I would recommend checking on your muffins after 20 minutes cooking time though as this was all the time mine needed in the oven, any longer and they would have been over done. Also be sure to only mix your ingredients until just moistened to avoid your muffins turning out tough. Thank you so much for providing a great healthy recipe for my family :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liz Cavanaugh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States