Low Fat Apple Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Decent nutrition for a muffin! Added 1 tsp of cinnamon, used a Granny Smith apple, and used Kellogg's All-Bran Complete cereal. I did the math according to my ingredients (per muffin): 92 calories, 18g carbs (7g sugar), 1g fat, 3g protein, 1g fiber. If pure wheat bran ( i.e., Bob's Red Mill unprocessed) is used, fiber per muffin is 3g, sugar down to 6g. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Soft and substantial! If you want to cut out the refined sugar you can do what I did, substitute sugar for apple concentrate and pure date syrup. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
As another reviewer has stated, you need to refrigerate these or they will go sour after 3 days or so. We liked the flavor and texture until they went south.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Great starter recipe. I did a blend of wheat germ, oat bran and wheat bran with regular milk. I added some oats in place of some of the bran, but combined that with the dry ingredients. I used whole wheat flour instead of white, and I added to that a tablespoon of flax meal and a tsp of cinnamon. To the soaking bran mixture I added the egg whites, a tsp of vanilla, a quarter cup of raisins, a quarter cup of honey and a whole finely chopped red delicious apple. I knew what texture to look for in the final product, so I wasn't worried about exacts. They turned out moist and delicious! Thanks Jenny. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I absolutely LOVE this recipe!. After reading some of the reviews I made some changes....substituted the buttermilk with fat free vanilla yogurt and fat free milk. I also added some raisins, cinnamon, nutmeg and vanilla extract. The batter seemed a little thick so if you want to go this route you may want to add just a little over 1 cup of yogurt and watch your muffins because 16-18 minutes may be just a tad bit too long for them to stay in the oven. Will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
These are a very good and healthy muffin. I did take up some of the reviewers on some modifications. I increased the brown sugar to about 1/3 cup and some cinnamon to add more sweetness. It was just right.I also added the other half of the apple by chopping it up and also added raisins, walnuts, pecans and about 1/4 cup of ground flax seeds. These are now not only yummy but full of texture and super healthy! They weren't dry at all, but don't overbake, if anything, check a few minutes before they are done. Even with me making the muffins slightly larger (to yield 8 instead of 12) they should be baked at about 17 minutes. Loved the suggestion to preheat the oven at 500 first then lower to 350 when you put in the oven. Great find! will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I'm not really impress about this recipe. I has less taste than it suppose to be. But I will try to make it again and more apple and some other fruits to give a flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tarabarra
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
So today was the first time I made this muffins for a quick snack. They turned out awesome but I was shocked there was no seasonings in there... kinda gives health food a bad wrap by being bland. So I added cinnamon,a little extra brown sugar and swapped the wheat bran for oat bran. I highly recommend them as a healthy muffin alternative to the fatty ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tarabarra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camano Island, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amwalt
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
After reading other reviews, I decided to add extra apple, some cinnamon, nutmeg, vanilla extract, and chopped walnuts to add some extra flavor. In addition, I used whole wheat flour and milk and low fat vanilla yogurt instead of buttermilk. I made mini muffins and they only needed about 10 minutes in a 440 degree oven. They turned out really well! They're great little, healthy, and filling snacks. I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Made these a couple weeks ago and the wife and I really enjoyed them. I never made any changes to the recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bucyrus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States